PDA

View Full Version : Shift Cables



RedRkt01
03-29-2010, 03:07 PM
I am down to one part need to to complete my swap. Part of the swap includes the tranny being changed from an S53 to an E56. My ST162 S53 cables are in good condition, but I'm under the impression that I need cables from an E series equipped Celica (ST165) to make the swap a success. I cannot find any used ones. I do not intend to pay $557.78 for a new pair of ST165 cables. I'm wondering if I can get away with using ST162 S53 cables.

Please discuss.....

4thgenceli
03-29-2010, 03:40 PM
I can't find the pictures now, but I took pictures of the st165 laid next to the st162. They looked just about the same length to me.

RedRkt01
03-29-2010, 04:04 PM
I can't find the pictures now, but I took pictures of the st165 laid next to the st162. They looked just about the same length to me.

I'm thinking it can be done. I used a reference point on the 3SFE block and measured to the center point of each cable-stay ring on the S53 and then did the same thing for the 3SGE/E56 and then values are super close. I just have to make sure the the cables have the selectors in the correct position at rest. Otherwise i'm going to get all kinds of grinding.

The ST165 and ST162 are the same vehicle forward of the rear seam and above the floorpan. So the cable through hole is in exactly the sane position for both cars. And we know that that the shifter base is in roughtly the same position. those facts plus the knowledge that the engine bay is exactly the same suggest to me that it will work.

However, to get it all together and have it fail would be a PITA.

4thgenceli
03-29-2010, 04:44 PM
I'm thinking it can be done. I used a reference point on the 3SFE block and measured to the center point of each cable-stay ring on the S53 and then did the same thing for the 3SGE/E56 and then values are super close. I just have to make sure the the cables have the selectors in the correct position at rest. Otherwise i'm going to get all kinds of grinding.

The ST165 and ST162 are the same vehicle forward of the rear seam and above the floorpan. So the cable through hole is in exactly the sane position for both cars. And we know that that the shifter base is in roughtly the same position. those facts plus the knowledge that the engine bay is exactly the same suggest to me that it will work.

However, to get it all together and have it fail would be a PITA.
I would prolly shiv someone :P

I can't seem to find those pictures, but I'm still looking. I'm not about to go & pull out the 165 cables and measure.

I vaguely remember reading somewhere that they will work. I think the st18* series is the one that has the clearly differently size between the alltrac/gt/st/etc cables.

RedRkt01
03-29-2010, 04:52 PM
I think you should go pull yoour cables out for my sake! Greater good, right?

4thgenceli
04-05-2010, 03:40 PM
I think you should go pull yoour cables out for my sake! Greater good, right?


The things I do for members...


ST165 cables are in the middle (with the bracket around them), ST162 cables are on the top/bottom.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v488/celiman89/DSCN1996.jpg

Mafix
04-05-2010, 03:44 PM
the length is the same. the part where it clips to the cable stay on the transmission is very different.

RedRkt01
04-05-2010, 04:08 PM
the length is the same. the part where it clips to the cable stay on the transmission is very different.

I'll pull the bracket off the E56 tonight and go mate it up with the cables to see what I'm dealing with. Thanks.

Tim, you're awesome. Thank you! :)

RedRkt01
04-06-2010, 03:06 PM
Willie, you're right as usual. The bracket is different, as expected, being that it is from an entirely different Celica. I think I'm going to make a set of shims out of washers to stick in there.

Mafix
04-06-2010, 08:16 PM
been done. somewhere on here there is a post about it.

RedRkt01
04-06-2010, 09:06 PM
I'm not finding much. Mario is right when he says that searching pulls all kinds of stuff except for the relelvant data.

4thgenceli
04-07-2010, 12:10 AM
Why can't you just use the cable bracket off a 165/185?

RedRkt01
04-07-2010, 02:05 PM
1) I don't have one
2) I can't find one
3) I already have the E56 bracket that came with the tranny.