PDA

View Full Version : 4age

reese01
03-13-2010, 07:03 PM
hi folks just a question on a engine swap... I own a 91 celica with the standard 1.6 engine.would it take alot of modding and wirirng ect to drop in the 4age motor? Im sure i would need a diffrent ecu .i also would like to tear out the auto tranny and convert to 5 speed. Ive done many engine swaps and tranny conversions but only in american made cars. this is my first time working on a import of any kind. would love to hear your thoughts and opinions on this swap.

andy
03-13-2010, 10:26 PM
itll bolt right in but yeah you would have to do some wiring. tranny as well

Shadowlife25
03-13-2010, 10:35 PM
Colossus20V did this same swap I believe.

Perhaps he can post the link to his page here that has the conversion process? :)

Also, Dr.Tweak can make a plug n' play harness for you once you get the new engine and harness.

He is a board vendor and can be found from the links on the main page.
His business is called Phoenix Tuning.

KM
03-13-2010, 10:56 PM
Nice to meet a member who is willing to donate within the first month!

Colossus20v did NOT have a step by step on how to do the swap.

There are 4 main types of 4AGEs: big port (TVIS), small port (non-TVIS), 20valve (silvertop, blacktop), and supercharged.

Big ports are found in AE-82 and AE-86 (RWD corollas), small ports are in AE-92 (FWD corollas), 20v are from AE101 (silvertop Trueno/Sprinter/Levin import) and AE111 (black Trueno/Sprinter/Levin import). The supercharged 4AGZE is found in the 87-89 supercharged MR2.