PDA

View Full Version : Do I use an st162 clutch kit for Gen 2 3sge into st162 gearbox? (tight arse setup)



bajachris88
02-25-2010, 02:03 AM
Hi,

Do i just use a new st162 clutch kit for gen 2 (st182) 3sge into st162 gearbox?

Or do i use a gen 2 clutch kit?

regards,
Christopher leete

Grot
02-25-2010, 02:12 AM
Yo. only need to post one time. we will see it.

4thgenceli
02-25-2010, 05:09 AM
The 3sge came in the st162 chassis (gen1 3sge). I'm not too familar with the gen2 3sge, but if the gen2 3sge is the same as the gen1/gen2 3sgte, then you'll need to use the gen2 3sge flywheel & pressure plate, and gen1 clutch.

Mafix
02-25-2010, 03:45 PM
what tranny? is it the ge trans? if so then does not matter the clutch kit is the same (as long as you do NOT have a 6 bolt flywheel, 1986 first run GE models)
is it the fe trans? then you need a 3sge pressure plate and a 3sfe disk.

bajachris88
02-27-2010, 03:37 AM
No worries Grot. Sorry mate, I was in a bit of an emergency. lol, the daily driver blew itself up and i need to get this sorted asap so i was getting a bit flustered.

But thanks for the reply guys.

Its a 1987 GE :P When i pull the motor out the flywheel will reveal itself. Lets hope the original box isn't a left over from 86 :P .

should be good then. Will keep ya posted.

Mafix
03-01-2010, 06:23 PM
87 ge motor. use stock clutch assembly. done. that is a 8 bolt crank.

bajachris88
03-02-2010, 12:21 AM
sik sik sik! thankyou heaps!

will order right away.

Many thanks,
Chris.

bajachris88
03-07-2010, 01:05 PM
Thanks Mafix! yup! i can see the 8 bolt flywheel.

Although the flywheels are different, i will put the clutch on the later and see how she goes.

I should get a photo. Does it matter that the 87' engien has a chunky as flywheel and the gen 2 has a thin as one with big holes cut out (weight reduction maybe?)??

If it was an issue, i'm sure i could swap flywheels.

Regards and many thanks,
Chris.

4thgenceli
03-07-2010, 02:14 PM
Thanks Mafix! yup! i can see the 8 bolt flywheel.

Although the flywheels are different, i will put the clutch on the later and see how she goes.

I should get a photo. Does it matter that the 87' engien has a chunky as flywheel and the gen 2 has a thin as one with big holes cut out (weight reduction maybe?)??

If it was an issue, i'm sure i could swap flywheels.

Regards and many thanks,
Chris.
The gen2 one 'sounds' like it may be an automatic flywheel. Is there a flat friction surface on it where the clutch disc would grab? If not, it's an automatic transmission flywheel.

bajachris88
03-08-2010, 12:38 AM
Ah! That would explain it. because i was only thinking that the other night then cause there isn't any friction surface. So the torque convertor bolted onto that hey? awesome. will just swap em over. (swap flywheels)

This is great. Thanks heaps, couldn't do this without yas!