PDA

View Full Version : HELP IM A NOOB with my first 92 STX

5thGenHero
02-23-2010, 06:34 PM
Im not sure where to start, for my whole life ever since I've had my driver's license i've had nothing but hondas. But now i have a 92 Celica STX. Its a bit of a culture shock cuz parts are not as easy to find and i have no idea what motors fit and what modifications would be necessary. If anyone could give me some insight on what would be the best motor for just more power with the least amount of work it would be very helpful. Waiting on ur replies.

KM
02-23-2010, 07:27 PM
Parts hard to find? Definitely not.
As for swaps... Anything with a A series block.
4AFE
4AGE
4AGZE
4AGE 20V Silvertop
4AGE 20V Blacktop
7AFE
or build a 7AGE and turbo it.

187flatliner
02-23-2010, 09:16 PM
build a 7AGE and turbo it.

seriously....do this one.

Grot
02-23-2010, 09:33 PM
Agreed on the 7AGE

This would involve sourcing a 7AFE Block and a 4AGE head.
the manifolds and wiring from the 7AFE should be sufficient, as will the ECU.

All the above engines willl be direct drop ins and will also mount to your trans.

Also heres a quick breakdown of toyota engine code incase you havent found it anywhere else.

starting with the 4afe

the "4" is the revision, so to speak.
the "a" is the block code.
and the "fe" is the head code

a 7afe and a 4afe are both very similar engines, just different revision. and displacements, but they both are A series engines.

also you can have "fe" or "ge" for your head code. "fe" is the economy series head, while "ge" is the performance series head.

If your head code has an additional letter such as the 3sgte or the 4agze, it refers to the induction of the engine. the "gte" means the engine has the performance head and is turbocharged. the "gze" is also a performance head but is supercharged.

Theres a very breif intro to toyota. cant wait to see what you do.

5thGenHero
02-23-2010, 11:49 PM