PDA

View Full Version : ST165 black soot coming from exhaust

id0l
01-31-2010, 09:28 PM
Hey guys! Just bought an '88 ST165 here locally, and I've already had the luxury of blowing the radiator and trying to find a replacement..but that story is for another day...lol (luckily read about the ASI rad's, got one in the mail).

This specific problem has been evident since I bought the car, about a week ago. I can smell fuel, it get's pretty crappy gas mileage (when I'm driving conservatively still), and black watery soot comes out of the tail pipe when I start/idle the car. I read it could be from running rich, which sounds about right considering these symptoms, and my question to you guys is what should I check first? I'm no mechanic but I can do some work here and there - on the outside of the motor, anyways. Or I could take it to a mechanic - problem there is I'm not sure who to take it to and nobody would have parts anyways.

The car has some mods (ct26 rebuilt with .46 trim 8-vein compressor, TurboXS manual boost controller, a few others I will list later), and lots of work done (will also list later tonight).

Thanks for any help, I heard from a fellow ex-celica owner/long-time friend that this forum was good. Attempting to post on alltrac.net as well, however a moderator still has not "approved" my registration...grrr...:hsughno:

Galcobar
01-31-2010, 09:30 PM
Ignition first.

Shadowlife25
01-31-2010, 09:42 PM
Have you tried pulling your plugs and reading them?
That would be the first thing I'd do, just to be sure of the fueling condition.

4thgenceli
02-01-2010, 12:22 AM
Yeah, sounds like a basic tuneup is in order (plugs, wires, etc).

id0l
02-01-2010, 03:46 AM
Ok guys, first of all thanks for the input so far.