PDA

View Full Version : Need a new set of tires...

Murgatroy
01-28-2010, 01:25 AM
I have tried several brands over the years, and I was rather fond of Toyo Proxes FZ4s when they were still around. I haven't tried the new version of these tires. Toyos are hard to come by around here.

I have tried Hankooks, Ventus IIs I think, and they wore way to fast and didn't impress me one way or the other.

I currently have some Yokohama Parada Spec IIs, and frankly, they suck balls. They suck in the wet, they wear out faster than anything I have seen and I don't think I will try them again even if they were free.

I am looking for something that comes in a 205/40/17 flavor, and I was just wondering what you guys like.

I want to stay around the $100 a tire range, as I am not able to devote a massive amount to tires this year. Frankly, I would like a tire that would last more than a year, but I am not too greedy.

I am an aggressive driver that expects a fair amount from my tires. I will push them beyond the limits of what a 'normal' driver would on the commute back and forth to work, however, they will also see daily use.

KM
01-28-2010, 01:47 AM
Mine's wrapped in Kumho Ecsta's. I'd definitely recommend them. You have no idea how much I torture my tires.
They drove perfectly doing 90 coming back from TN when I bought the car, and it was shitstorming.
I don't remember when they were installed (receipt is in the glovebox, I can look) but they've lasted this long and still haven't shown any wear. Granted, I rotate my tires maybe every two weeks on habit.

sodap0p
01-28-2010, 07:39 PM
I had Falkren's on my celica when I bought it, the tires were bald, but seemed better than these BF Goodrich traction T/A's with almost full tread.
I like Nitto and Toyo too, and I have Nokian on my truck, they work really well. I used to swear by Bridgestone RE71's but times have changed.

Galcobar
01-28-2010, 08:33 PM
Mine's wrapped in Kumho Ecsta's.