PDA

View Full Version : MKII Supra looking to build a 1st gen Celica



Suprademon
01-07-2010, 01:57 AM
Hey all,

Looks like I found the place. I'm looking to pick up a Celica in the spring as I'm planning on pulling the 5MGE from my MKII Supra and using it for the Celica. I had a celica when I was stationed in Japan back in the day and loved it. I'd like to build something similar to what I had, with the 5MGE, and possibly the original Supra wheels.

http://i593.photobucket.com/albums/tt11/Suprademon/Old%20Rides/CelicaST.jpg

This is the 83 MKII Supra which will provide the engine. I'm planning on a 6MGE in the Supra.

http://i593.photobucket.com/albums/tt11/Suprademon/Wheels/Laker.jpg

http://i593.photobucket.com/albums/tt11/Suprademon/paint145.jpg

http://i593.photobucket.com/albums/tt11/Suprademon/Wheels/paint052.jpg

http://i593.photobucket.com/albums/tt11/Suprademon/Wheels/paint123.jpg

http://i593.photobucket.com/albums/tt11/Suprademon/Engine.jpg

Shadowlife25
01-07-2010, 02:06 AM
Nice first post sir! :)

Welcome to the site, glad to have you!

A couple of our guys have done 1jz and 2jz swaps into first gen Celicas.

Either way, we're here to help.

- Mario

Hookecho
01-07-2010, 02:50 AM
welcome sir! great looking supra!

Grot
01-07-2010, 03:00 AM
Damn fine supra.

Cant wait to see whatever you end up doing

sodap0p
01-07-2010, 03:10 AM
looks awesome!

Tara
01-07-2010, 04:25 AM
Gee, that car looks familiar (the mkii.) CS.com?

Good luck with the swap, I love those old celis.

donteatbugs
01-07-2010, 01:54 PM
the 5mge isnt a very powerful engine and doesnt rev high at all. unless your dead set on all that work the 20r is more than enough for the 1st gen. if you want the EFI use a 22RE. most people that swap in I6 motors do it for the power advantage. ie 1JZ 2JZ

Suprademon
01-07-2010, 04:52 PM
Thanks... good info already.

Murgatroy
01-07-2010, 09:18 PM
Stretched Tires aside, I am loving that MKII Celica Supra.

tuner4life
01-14-2010, 08:14 AM
Looks like a sweet ride! What will become of the supra after it looses it's engine?

andy
01-14-2010, 06:16 PM
im dropping in a 1jz, the sump and everything is all in the right spot already. only fab is engine and trans mounts. and electrical of course.