PDA

View Full Version : Replacing Stock wires



Scrodbagus
04-02-2005, 03:23 AM
Theres a few wires under the hood that are pretty old and look like they arnt doing the job anymore. . i would like to replace them myself, but the wire seems differnt than just regular wires. Its quite heavy and resists bending fairly well. . Any ideas on what type of wire i should use? and where i could get some? Heres a pic of one of the worst ones . . Its going from the Alternator cables to the bracket for the alternator. .
http://people.msoe.edu/~morem/Hosting/Wire2.jpg
http://people.msoe.edu/~morem/Hosting/Wire3.jpg

david in germany
04-02-2005, 06:21 PM
Basicly any upgrade you can make with a better quality wire will be a good upgrade. Car companies buy the cable in bulk from the cheapest supplier... If you can find a source for that same grade wire or larger GO FOR IT! If you would like to eventualy upgrade te stereo I can tell you you will wish that you upgraded the power and grounds before you needed to. The one you showed is probably hard from age, don't think stiffness means better.
David

alltracman78
04-05-2005, 02:05 AM
That particular wire is one of the ground straps.
You can replace all of them with some good quality 10g stereo wire. I got the double stranded stuff [2 wires with the insulation bonded together, running parallel], separated it. It works great for ground wires. I used gold connectors from Autozone.
For the best connection you should also solder the connection too.
I did the one on the pass side [in your pic], the one for the bat, the one from the transmission to the chassis, and I added one from the head to the transmission.
I also did both starter cables.

Here's a pic of the pass side g wire.
http://img76.exs.cx/img76/9013/gwire3xr.jpg (http://www.imageshack.us)

Scrodbagus
04-05-2005, 04:20 AM
awesome. thanks for the useful info and pics :)

Scrodbagus
04-06-2005, 02:44 PM
Few quick questions, where exactly are the wires from the transmission to the chassis, the head to the transmission and the starter cables?

Scrodbagus
04-10-2005, 10:08 PM
Anyone know where they are? ive looked and found a few that look like they could be but i wanna be 100% sure before i start cutting things up ha

Blackcloud
04-11-2005, 09:59 AM
I used 2awg stereo wire from my battery to the chasis ground. and 4awg for the alt and starter