PDA

View Full Version : Swapping Engine 2002 Celica GT

ECR_02
12-30-2009, 11:18 PM
Hey All,

My Son threw a rod in his 2002 Celica GT and I'm going to have to pull the engine and replace it. I have an AllData subscription (not sure that was the best investment) and I have found a rather poor quality FSM for the 2000 Celica. I have done numerous engine swaps/overhauls in my youger days but never on a FWD vehicle. I'm at the point of removing the drive axles but the ALLData manual suggests removing the lower ball joint from the lower supension arm. However, there seems to be quit a bit of tension on the supension arm even after I have the bolts/nuts off. Do I have to compress the coil spring before disconnecting this? It doesn't appear that way but I certainly don't want to release a rocket by prying the arm lose form the ball joint.

All instructions/data will be helpful.

I also posted this in the Ask A 7th Generation Questoin Thread but Thought it might be better here.

donteatbugs
12-30-2009, 11:40 PM
remove the lower ball joint and remove one side of the swaybar endlink and it should move down. i just remove my struts all together from the top and spindle. you might need an alignment after this method though. pulling this engine is one of the easiest ever. takes me about 3 hours

Smaay
01-01-2010, 07:33 PM
you dont have to take the suspension apart. just the 2 bolts holding the strut to the hub. remove the AMS sensor if there is one. then just pull the axle out.

Luni
01-09-2010, 12:31 AM
Thats what I say. Remove the ABS sensor, pull it up above and tuck it behind the shock, and then loosen the 30mm outer axle nut, and hit the nut with a socket on it with a hammer to loosen it up a little bit, then remove remove the 2 bolts holding the strut to the hub and swing the whole thing out and away and remove the axle.

donteatbugs
01-09-2010, 02:06 AM