PDA

View Full Version : Removing speed govenor



3citytuner
10-19-2009, 12:14 AM
Hi Guys,

I'm planning on getting my car race ready, i understand they put a governor in all jpn spec.

how do you remove it on a celica gt4 st205.

Thanks,
Joe

bobblyhead
10-19-2009, 04:01 AM
I thought that it was programmed into the ECU. I believe that you will need to send your ECU to someone who can retune it and get rid of it. Please correct me if I am wrong. But it seems, like since you will be racing your Celica, getting a reflashed ECU would probably get rid of the speed limiter.

schmooot
10-19-2009, 03:19 PM
the 205 is hella fast enough for me. But I agree with bobblyhead...as far as I know it means reprogramming the ecu, you may find some better info about this at gt4ec.comm its an overseas based gt4 forum

ChrisD
10-19-2009, 05:04 PM
You could add a switch on the SPD wire to the ECU, kill it when exceeding the speed limiter @ ~180kph. This will throw a CEL, but should be ok otherwise.

For off-road use only of course...

andy
10-19-2009, 07:51 PM
just cut the speed wire and ignore the cel

Shadowlife25
10-19-2009, 08:01 PM
You can also build your own SLD circuit.
Or buy a Speed Limit Defencer.

You do not need to open up, reflash, or touch your ecu.
I recommend you don't.

andy
10-21-2009, 07:38 PM
or do what i did and just put some tape over the light.

salv
11-09-2009, 04:50 PM
I think the Governor is removed off mine. I hit more then 180kmh... Do you end up hitting the cut at the end of fourth gear?

Shadowlife25
11-10-2009, 12:24 AM
Cut should only occur in 5th.

rizin
11-10-2009, 01:43 AM
The speed is read from the diff doesn't matter what gear you are in.

I was looking at making a speed cut defender that I found on alltrac.net. This should keep from getting a cel beacuse the ecu is still getting the signal. Just tells the ecu you are going slower then you are.


(http://alltrac.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=35240&highlight=speed+cut+defender)

Shadowlife25
11-10-2009, 02:42 AM
Offsite link removed.

I have the files for that saved though.

I can post them if required. :)

Mr. Babb
11-10-2009, 02:48 AM
meh who really needs to go over 110mph, well on a closed course i guess.

anyway i once had the speedo needle straight down on my swap, no indication of a speed cut

rizin
11-10-2009, 03:05 AM
Thanks Mario.