PDA

View Full Version : 5sgte ?s



rizin
09-09-2009, 12:38 AM
Ok guys I am in Ft. Collins, CO. My engine is now in Utah going to the machine shop. I am looking at numbers wanting to make sure I have it all correct. I am using eagle H beam 3sgte rods. Cp pistons 5s to 3sgte head.

Crank rod jornals need to be turned to 1.8898 in. and radiused. One question is do I need to nitrate it? Will the longevity of the crank be fine without it? Told it would be about 600 for it to be done.

Stock rod length is 5.433 and eagle 3sgte rods are 5.428. Looking at decking the block .005. Using Cp pistons 5s with 3sgte head 8:5 to 1, .020 over. Part number CB-SC7451. Is the pin for these cp pistons the same as stock. all I know is the cp's are a 1.275" compression hieght. Using .040 cometic head gasket.

I hope this is all correct and will work out good.

Can anyone tell me what the compression ratio will be with this combination? (stock head no machine work)

andy
09-09-2009, 03:24 AM
ask vip09 thats the setup hes running i think.

vip09
09-09-2009, 05:07 AM
Go with the ATS stroker pistons and be done with it. Just get the crank rod journals turned down to fit the 3s rod bearings and make sure they polish it. Don't make it harder than it is.

Smaay
09-09-2009, 01:57 PM
Go with the ATS stroker pistons and be done with it. Just get the crank rod journals turned down to fit the 3s rod bearings and make sure they polish it. Don't make it harder than it is.


best advise....

rizin
09-10-2009, 03:25 AM
Good don't need to nitrate the crank. Are you meaning stroker pistons for a 3s block 5s crank build?

Grot
09-10-2009, 03:40 AM
use 3s rods and pistons.

have the 5s crank machined to accept the 3s rods.

call it done.

Sang
09-10-2009, 03:53 AM
use 3s rods and pistons.

No.

Use 5S pistons in a 5S block. which is exactly what a 5SGTE is. 5S block with a G series head.

rizin
09-10-2009, 03:55 AM
Well I have everything to build up a 5s block allready.

MrTurrari
09-12-2009, 02:04 AM
That all sounds fine but you don't have to deck the block unless it needs it. Find out where it is once you assemble it since you never know if someone has shaved off some before.

rizin
09-12-2009, 03:40 AM
The block does need it. I know the block has not been shaved the original mark numbers are still raised on the deck.