PDA

View Full Version : how to install a blow off valve on a topmount



02bluerolla
07-11-2009, 03:45 PM
I have seen a couple of people with top mounts and with blow off valves, I try searching for a pic but i could not find it. Can anyone show me how to install a blow off valve on a stock intercooler for my 3sgte 2nd gen. thanks

T-spoon
07-11-2009, 03:50 PM
Well, you have a couple options. The least destructive way to do it is to get a T-hose to replace the sleeve between the turbo and the intercooler. That way you aren't welding anything, you're just attaching the BOV to a hose. Samco makes one, I'm not sure about others. The other option is to weld a flange onto the very small area of piping on the front of the IC where it makes that bend. The trick there is to make sure the angle of the BOV is low enough that it's not going to interfere with the hood opening and closing (or rub on the underside when it's close). I don't have pics of either atm, but they're floating around all over the place.

02bluerolla
07-11-2009, 04:46 PM
could you tell me where i can buy a t hose? thanks

T-spoon
07-11-2009, 05:39 PM
http://www.samcosport.com/usa/rp_t_piece_hoses.asp

I'm not certain which size, haven't used one myself

importrcr13
07-11-2009, 06:11 PM
Check out my AWD thread, i have a TMIC with a SSQV BOV. I'll post pics of it, if you still can't find any.

DudeMan
07-11-2009, 07:29 PM
If you order the T hose from eBay, like I did, expect to wait four weeks...

T-spoon
07-11-2009, 07:33 PM
If you order the T hose from eBay, like I did, expect to wait four weeks...

It would really depend on who you bought it from, more than one company and individuals sell through Ebay. Anyway, personally I'd order from one of the distributers listed on their site, but that's just me, I'd probably be overpaying, but oh well, that's part of buying from someone you don't have to wonder about.

02bluerolla
07-15-2009, 01:53 AM
my cousin decided to weld his so here are some pics

lalojamesliz
07-16-2009, 12:58 AM
when i was using my hks ssqv i had it on this intercooler. i still have both sitting around

DudeMan
07-16-2009, 01:40 AM
Are the mounts on the back of that intercooler stock?

T-spoon
07-16-2009, 01:48 AM
Are the mounts on the back of that intercooler stock?

Looks like it. That IC is upside down though.

lalojamesliz
07-17-2009, 02:39 AM
Are the mounts on the back of that intercooler stock?

yes. i used it for a month or two and had no problems with it. i did a pressure test on it and it did not leak at all.

Nitro_Alltrac
07-17-2009, 11:21 PM
The t-hose is probably the easiest route. I used the Samco hose on mine and it works fine. I had to trim it down a little on the ends (shorten the length) to get it in there, but no problem.

ROME
07-18-2009, 01:01 PM
Here is my old set up before I went to a front mount.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v153/ROME_GT4/100_0147.jpg

UndaGrwnD
07-18-2009, 01:31 PM
or like this:

http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/4541/p1010346bvx.jpg

joe's gt
07-18-2009, 07:05 PM
ROME i love your quote. lol.

I would do the samco hose man. I got one. You will have to cut it down a little but thats about it. Its full proof, where as someone has the chance of messing up the install of the flange on your intercooler.

Grot
07-18-2009, 09:30 PM
Its full proof

Oh sweet irony

T-spoon
07-19-2009, 12:36 AM
:lolhittin

DudeMan
07-19-2009, 12:58 AM
I wish I had a T hose, its been four weeks since I placed an order for one from eBay seller Racebikebitz and still nothing.

T-spoon
07-19-2009, 03:01 AM
By the way, anyone have the diameters you need on the T-hose to fit the stock Alltracs? Same sizes for the 1g W/A, 2g A/A, CS W/A and 3rd W/A?

DudeMan
07-19-2009, 07:08 AM
By the way, anyone have the diameters you need on the T-hose to fit the stock Alltracs? Same sizes for the 1g W/A, 2g A/A, CS W/A and 3rd W/A?

ST 165- 55mm

ST 185- 51mm

ST 205- ??

Wicked Toys
07-23-2009, 05:47 PM
Here's mine

Previous owner installed.

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k219/Wonsdloc/Temp/CurrentGT-FourEngine7.jpg

UndaGrwnD
07-23-2009, 06:51 PM
lol funny hoses on the airfilter :P

Nitro_Alltrac
07-24-2009, 10:08 PM
Here's mine

Previous owner installed.

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k219/Wonsdloc/Temp/CurrentGT-FourEngine7.jpg

Off topic but Toys, what kind of strut bar is that?

Shadowlife25
07-24-2009, 10:13 PM
^^ Seconded. :)

Freshnicity
07-24-2009, 10:39 PM
^^ Seconded. :)

Looks like the factory brace minus the MAP sensor clip by the firewall, plus an additional brace underneith it, kinda like Ryans braces that he makes.

I win

Nice engine bay btw

Wicked Toys
07-30-2009, 03:20 AM
Off topic but Toys, what kind of strut bar is that?

That would be Whiteline. Got it for cheap from a AT.net member.

Nitro_Alltrac
07-30-2009, 04:57 PM
Thanks Toys. I'll have to check into that.