PDA

View Full Version : HID for 7th Gen

ST185
07-03-2009, 06:29 AM
I just want to know if i have to buy aftermarket housings for and HID kit that i want to put on my 7th Gen or do i just plug them in with the stock housings that the car comes with?

importrcr13
07-03-2009, 07:27 AM
stock housing will work... i had some on my 03 and the clamps that hold them in fit right over it... all you should have to do is remove the old bulb unplug , put in the new one put the metal clamp back on, hook up the converter box to your stock bulb plug, mount them somewhere, run the cable to your battery and you're good to go

vip09
07-03-2009, 07:36 AM
Just buy an H7 HID kit and you are set. I've been using them for a few years now.

CarolinaJr.
07-06-2009, 10:01 PM
Is that the same on the 5th gen?

importrcr13
07-06-2009, 10:12 PM
yes, the housing will work, but will look horrible... unless you get clear lamps, and 5th gens use a different type of bulb... the actual HID bulb, and the converters are the same i think but the plug is gonna be different.

Galcobar
07-07-2009, 01:57 AM
The seventh-gen uses a projector for its halogens, which puts it a lot closer to the design virtually all HID lights use.

Keep in mind the bulb provides the light, the lens shapes it. Mismatch the two and you'll have a useless -- or worse, dangerous -- beam pattern. Slapping an HID bulb into a projector designed for a halogen bulb will not produce the same kind of results as an HID projector using an HID bulb. Glare and a rainbow cutoff are common.