PDA

View Full Version : mr2 lsd shiffter cable problems



02bluerolla
05-13-2009, 12:21 AM
Hey guys, so am trying to finish my mr2 lsd tranny swap but neither the gt shifter cables work nor the st205 from a gt4 work. They are just too short.
I have no idea what to do. I have a 95 celica orginaly it was an st automatic.

if you have done this swap and have a pictures on how you routed the shifter cables that would be of great help

burnyd
05-13-2009, 12:38 AM
I dont have pictures but I hate to ask this.... but did you move the shifter linkage from the back to the top? If they are still on the back of the transmission and you did not move the linkaege clearly they will not fit by a mile.

02bluerolla
05-13-2009, 12:44 AM
I dont have pictures but I hate to ask this.... but did you move the shifter linkage from the back to the top? If they are still on the back of the transmission and you did not move the linkaege clearly they will not fit by a mile.

What do you mean move the shifter linkage from the back to the top... can u explain please.....thanks!

02bluerolla
05-13-2009, 12:59 AM
anyone have any idea?

Carolina91GT-S
05-13-2009, 01:58 AM
MR2s have the shifter linkage coming out of the XMSN towards the front of the car because it is rear wheel drive. The Celica is Front whel drive so the linkage has to come out towards the rear. If you did not convert it then you still need to do this.

MR2 configuration looks like this
http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w198/Afishianado/Transmission_Cleaned_7108.jpg

Celica configuration looks like this
http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w198/Afishianado/100_0543.jpg
you have to take this piece
http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w198/Afishianado/100_0537.jpg

out of this housing and turn it around
http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w198/Afishianado/100_0539.jpg

your ST205 shifter cables should work fine once you do this

joe's gt
05-13-2009, 02:15 AM
What do you mean move the shifter linkage from the back to the top... can u explain please.....thanks!


Read the stickies in the FI forum dude. The info is in there. You GOT to move the shifter linkage.

02bluerolla
05-13-2009, 02:58 AM
Thanks guys your the best and am sorry I bug too much....
one thing just to be 100% sure the thing that i take out from the celica is from a gt transmission right? thanks!!!

02bluerolla
05-13-2009, 03:37 AM
ok, its not from a regular gt celica.... would a st185 or st165 work thanks

burnyd
05-13-2009, 07:22 AM
okay all of those pictures you see the shifter linkage? did you move it?if you did not I cannot see any shifter cables that would be long enough lol........ the only linkage that will work is one off of a st185 or a camry/solara v6 5 speed.... You need it.. .there are holes there already drilled and ready for it...just simply has to be moved. So you are still using the mr2 rwd setup?

02bluerolla
05-13-2009, 06:08 PM
Hey guys I got the stuff that i need but i have one last question, how did you guys take off the "extra piece" on the tranny the fork i belive its call. and sencond what toold o you use to make the hole for the bracktes for the st185 thing thanks!

burnyd
05-13-2009, 07:11 PM
^^ you are referring to the actuator... And I cant remember lol... but there are bolts around it.

02bluerolla
05-13-2009, 08:02 PM
ok so i took it off..... I grind the heck out it!!! but its off.. and the st185 actuator is on!!!!! but now what do i use to cover the hole?

Carolina91GT-S
05-13-2009, 08:23 PM
a freeze plug type plug would work well to cover the hole, that was what I used, just dug around a collection of them until I found something that worked. I guess you could JB weld a small plate into place if you have no other way of covering it. or you could JB weld some nuts to the case next to the hole and use them to bolt a plate in place.

02bluerolla
05-13-2009, 08:28 PM
Thank YOU !!!!!!!!!! you have solve my problems!!!! i cant wait to test drive this thing!!!

02bluerolla
05-14-2009, 07:31 AM
Well things took a turn for the worse......
I though I had the right axles and the spacer taken care off but just a few minutes ago my mechanic try to put the driver side axles and told me it did not go in all the way..............I dont know what todo........
He says that the axles needs to have longer "engraved lines"....
I think i might have gotten a turbo axles and not an lsd axles.... is there a way to fix this...... thanks

02bluerolla
05-14-2009, 08:19 AM
Sorry about the big picture..... the axle in the pic is the one I have trouble with. Its the drivers side

Carolina91GT-S
05-14-2009, 01:17 PM
FYI..the drivers side is a PITA to get in and out.

Getting the ring to pop in can be....infuriating...then it will pop in no problem once you get it lined up just right and give it the proper nudge.

Sounds like things are going normally. Or it could be that you have the wrong axle like you said. Just wanted to let you know that even with the right axle it isn't easy.

Did the passenger side go in ok?

02bluerolla
05-14-2009, 03:42 PM
How do i now if i have the right axel. the only one thats giving him hell the drivers.
Whats the diffrences between a regular turbo mr2 axle and a lsd mr2 axle?

02bluerolla
05-14-2009, 04:55 PM
Well I think what has happen is that i got the wrong axles. Apperanly I have turbo axles . I was reading you could have take them to the machine shop, but am not sure what they are suppose to doto them...... does any one know

Carolina91GT-S
05-14-2009, 11:15 PM
Did you get them as a set? Would a non LSD passenger side axle fit into the LSD transmission and then the Driver's side not fit?

Count the splines on the axle and on the transmission, make sure they match.

02bluerolla
05-14-2009, 11:28 PM
no, i could not find them as a set...... i got them seperately....... thats a good idea ill go ahead and count them to make sure! thanks.....
have you heard about fixing them?