PDA

View Full Version : Superchips Icon



gerby77
04-30-2009, 11:04 AM
I finally have the Icon build in without trouble.
Had to send it back once to the UK, but they didn't find a
problem.

Now i know what the problem is... i didn't solder the wires together but clamped them together.

Yesterday i went onto the german Autobahn and i could feel a difference, unfortunatelly i can't tell you how much the difference is.
Maybe someone else has build the Icon in his 5th gen Celica with 3S-GE motor...? ;-)

grayscale
04-30-2009, 05:22 PM
Do you have pictures or a link to a website explaining what it is? Never heard of it.

Hookecho
04-30-2009, 07:59 PM
got me stumped too.

gerby77
04-30-2009, 09:52 PM
Check here!
http://www.superchips.co.uk/

For a Celica T20 with a 2.0L motor with 168 hp they promise a plus of 10 hp.
The T18 unfortunatelly isn't listed.

grayscale
04-30-2009, 09:54 PM
Hey gerby, do you have the 3sge engine?

gerby77
04-30-2009, 09:56 PM
Hey gerby, do you have the 3sge engine?
yes i have! ;-)

grayscale
04-30-2009, 09:59 PM
So is this an actual part, or do you send your ecu off somewhere?

grayscale
04-30-2009, 10:00 PM
yes i have! ;-)
Could you snap some pictures of your engine for me. I want to find out if the gen2 3sge is map sensored.

gerby77
04-30-2009, 10:09 PM
Could you snap some pictures of your engine for me. I want to find out if the gen2 3sge is map sensored.

sure can do that, it is a piggy-back by the way

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_E7gvrq2cYEg/Sb54JT3aWiI/AAAAAAAAGb0/5fgDJOOFZWs/s800/PICT0196.JPG
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_E7gvrq2cYEg/Sb54KDYAQyI/AAAAAAAAGb8/ITYTTFzKJec/s800/PICT0197.JPG

grayscale
04-30-2009, 10:15 PM
sure can do that, it is a piggy-back by the way
Thanks for the pictures.
From the site, seems like a pretty nice product. I got the impression it was a piggy back when I saw the controller which is pretty sharp too. But to answer your original question, I don't think any one here has ever used it before, so you are the first.

gerby77
04-30-2009, 10:17 PM
Thanks for the pictures.
From the site, seems like a pretty nice product. I got the impression it was a piggy back when I saw the controller which is pretty sharp too. But to answer your original question, I don't think any one here has ever used it before, so you are the first.

lol ;-) one has to be the first ;-) I will try to get some more information and will publish it here then

UndaGrwnD
04-30-2009, 10:20 PM
gerby, wanna buy a second 3sge ? cuz your are fucking 2much with your engine ?:P

gerby77
04-30-2009, 10:22 PM
gerby, wanna buy a second 3sge ? cuz your are fucking 2much with your engine ?:P

what? i didn't even touch the machine... ;-)
But i might exchange the gear in half a year or so...

UndaGrwnD
04-30-2009, 10:31 PM
i got a 3SGE for cheap!! :P

gerby77
04-30-2009, 10:33 PM
i got a 3SGE for cheap!! :P
i know, but no transmission ;-)

UndaGrwnD
04-30-2009, 10:36 PM
you got one

gerby77
04-30-2009, 10:45 PM
you got one

yeah, but i'm thinking about exchanging it in a while

grayscale
04-30-2009, 11:08 PM
i got a 3SGE for cheap!! :P
What year?

UndaGrwnD
04-30-2009, 11:15 PM
'91

grayscale
04-30-2009, 11:42 PM
Interested in parting it out?

UndaGrwnD
04-30-2009, 11:59 PM
nah, i bought a gen2 3sgte CS...so the first person who comes, can pick it up for a cheap price.

grayscale
05-01-2009, 12:01 AM
Hm, alright, I'm looking to get a bunch of gen2 3sge parts if you know of any.

Dan_Q
05-20-2009, 10:33 PM
I've been running an ICON for years, but I have never had it mapped- it kinda smoothed out the mid rev range for me.

The rev2 3SGE runs a MAP sensor by the way. GTE runs a MAF.

I really must get on with starting my engine build, if i do i'll pop up some stuff on here as you guys seem more interested than those back in the UK.

RedRkt01
05-20-2009, 11:00 PM
Hm, alright, I'm looking to get a bunch of gen2 3sge parts if you know of any.

Which parts? I can get a bunch of them, if not all.

grayscale
05-20-2009, 11:20 PM
Dan! You need to pop in more often mate!

grayscale
05-20-2009, 11:33 PM
Which parts? I can get a bunch of them, if not all.
Ah, I was considering the 3sge head on the 5s block and wanted to use a map head instead of the afm one. Not sure what I'm doing now, so I'm just sitting on my cash for now, preferably till I find employment again.

Dan_Q
05-21-2009, 12:28 AM
Dan! You need to pop in more often mate!

:lolhittin i'll try mate. i must admit i'd forgotten how much i like it here. suppose thats what being off the net for so long does to ya.

sorry to hear about the employment situation. and also its a shame your not local as you could have borrowed one of my spare heads for a trial fit.

RedRkt01
05-21-2009, 02:42 AM
Ah, I was considering the 3sge head on the 5s block and wanted to use a map head instead of the afm one. Not sure what I'm doing now, so I'm just sitting on my cash for now, preferably till I find employment again.

What? You're unemployed too? Jesus.....

Most of what you'll need will have cousin part number with the USDM (in generation) 5SFE. But the parts that are hard to find I can give you a hand with. If it is a non-USDM S series G head I'm you're guy for help. I can totally back you up on that. Just let me know what's up when the time comes. I can show you trhe ins and outs of how I find parts for my 3SGE.

grayscale
05-21-2009, 05:23 AM
What? You're unemployed too? Jesus.....
Yep, got caught up in the Caterpillar downsizing.

gerby77
05-21-2009, 07:01 PM
I've been running an ICON for years, but I have never had it mapped- it kinda smoothed out the mid rev range for me.

The rev2 3SGE runs a MAP sensor by the way. GTE runs a MAF.

I really must get on with starting my engine build, if i do i'll pop up some stuff on here as you guys seem more interested than those back in the UK.

yeah it revs nicely. But the only thing i recognized was, that at about 160 kmh, at about 5000 rpm it almost seems as if the engine runs into a kind of rev-limiter... But when i then release the gas it slowly heads up to 200 kmh... But it still is nice