PDA

View Full Version : 5S-GE swap



Grot
03-29-2009, 01:18 AM
Well i finally decided something.

Fuck the 3SGE!!!!

Im gonna stick a 5SGE under the hood of the GTS.

I need to know a few things about the 5S tho.



im going to try to find a 5S short block for cheap.
if i can get a nice one i will buy rebuilt (from jasper)
if not i will get one and rebuild myself.

Is the oil sensor hole a different size in the 5s?

Would it be better to run a rev 1 or rev 2?

Is it worth it to strengthen the bottom while im rebuilding if i buy used?
if so what parts from the GTE do i need?

the 3s and 5s blocks are identical except for stroke correct?

anything else i should watch out for?

METDeath
03-29-2009, 01:40 AM
I think the big thing you need to look out for is the coolant passages lining up. I know someone else did a 5S-GE starting with the 1st gen 3S-GE, he machined the head to match to the 5S gasket.

RedRkt01
03-29-2009, 03:18 AM
I know a guy over on mr2oc that has done one of these with a 3rd Gen head and it looks to be a superbeast of a machine.

Grot
03-29-2009, 04:10 AM
yea MET i have that thread bookmarked

And im hopin this thing will be a blast to build and to drive.
Ima strip the interior too as this is no longer my DD

RedRkt01
03-29-2009, 04:19 AM
I know where you can get a 3rd Gen head.......that way you can have aftermarket support.....which wont happen otherwise.

Grot
03-29-2009, 04:22 AM
but then i will need to rewire, and i am trying to svoid that.

How much anyway?

RedRkt01
03-29-2009, 04:36 AM
There is one here in STL for 200. Yeah I didn't think about what you'd have to do to make it work. It would be friggin awesome though.

Oh well.....this way my 4th Gen will still be faster than yours ;)

RedRkt01
03-29-2009, 04:38 AM
So what are you driving right now?

Grot
03-29-2009, 04:39 AM
yea using my 1st gen it should be almost plug an play. im sure there will be a few snags i will find.

RedRkt01
03-29-2009, 04:53 AM
5S + TVIS......you'll have torque for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Grot
03-29-2009, 05:02 AM
Yessir.

Ima have to find a used block though. Jasper wants 3600 for a rebuilt 5S.

Fuck that.

To build a 5s bottom end you use 3sgte rods and 5s postons after having the 5s crank machined to fit a 3s rod

CriScO
03-29-2009, 05:50 AM
Is the oil sensor hole a different size in the 5s?

Would it be better to run a rev 1 or rev 2?

Is it worth it to strengthen the bottom while im rebuilding if i buy used?
if so what parts from the GTE do i need?

the 3s and 5s blocks are identical except for stroke correct?

anything else i should watch out for?
1. Nope.

2. AIRC the second revision was just a change in the head, which doesn't affect what you're doing. I could be mistaken. Either way, you'll have an easier time finding low miles on a rev 2.

3. Yes it's worth it, I think only the pistons/rods are interchangable. EDIT: Oops, I see you covered that in your last post. :)

4. Mostly. There's some minor differences, but the big things, i.e. mounts, bellhousing, are the same. Block itself will drop right in and mount straight to the tranny.

Grot
03-29-2009, 04:37 PM
thats exactally what i needed man. thanks.

one more thing. rev 2 has the knock sensor doesnt it?
and miles are a big deal as i will rebuild it.
would not hooking anything to the knock sensor be bad at all?

RedRkt01
03-29-2009, 05:20 PM
I would put the knock sensor in there. If for some reason your combustion process gets all jacked up you'll want your knock sensor listening for pings and notifying you about it. I don't see why you wouldn't.

CriScO
03-29-2009, 07:22 PM
I would put the knock sensor in there. If for some reason your combustion process gets all jacked up you'll want your knock sensor listening for pings and notifying you about it. I don't see why you wouldn't.
^ I'm with Red. That extra bit of safety can't hurt.

You're right, the rev 2 does have that sensor. I recall some guys hooking a spare idiot light to it, that could be done to hook it up. AIRC it was Lagos, I think Mario might have done it as well. Search the Forced Induction forum for it. If you don't find it let me know and I'll look for it later, I'm just on my way to work right now...

CriScO
03-29-2009, 07:53 PM
Nevermind. I went ahead and found it, it was based on the TVSV knock sensor signal for retarding boost. Nothing like that on the 5S, and definitely not on your ECU. My bad. I bet there's another way to hook it up, but I'm not sure how... Research time later...

I really don't want to go to work, apperently. :hehe:

Grot
03-31-2009, 03:44 AM
Alright, after a little more research, for some more power would it be worth finding some oversized valves and a flow-job (lol) with a set of mild cams if i can find them.

Ref this Valve thread (http://www.celicatech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38452&highlight=MrTurrari)

Grot
03-31-2009, 04:58 AM
bump

Grot
04-01-2009, 02:49 AM
bumpity

grayscale
04-01-2009, 03:47 AM
What else do you need to know?

Grot
04-01-2009, 03:49 AM
If the head work mentioned 3 or 4 posts up would be worth the money i put in it.

grayscale
04-01-2009, 04:05 AM
Definitely, as long as you use the cams in it. At that point you should be looking to use a piggy back system like safc etc, that would get a good bit further with that setup.

METDeath
04-01-2009, 04:05 AM
Depends on if you're going to do all the other supporting work, intake (include the manifold), exhaust, injectors, tuning, etc...

Grot
04-01-2009, 04:10 AM
I planned on doing exhaust and a custom CAI.

But as far as intake manifold and injectors, What are avaliable?

grayscale
04-01-2009, 04:17 AM
P&P intake manifold. Don't think you'd need to do injectors until you did something like a custom intake manifold. Tuning would come with the addition of a piggy back.

Though this setup would probably benefit from a larger throttle body. I know joey said the 3rd gen 3sge tb is 60mm.

usp45
04-01-2009, 08:38 AM
5s block High comp pistons and a beams head... mmmm.


not cheap though.