PDA

View Full Version : "Afterburner" tail lights

KM
03-15-2009, 07:41 PM
http://www.quadconversions.com/toyota_Celica/toyota_celica_afterburner_rear_lights.htm

Geez, these are bad-ass.
I mean, you know, other than the $500+shipping price tag, and the fact that they're for Gen6s.

I think on my next trip to Pull-a-part, I'll grab the lights off another Gen5 and fiberglass something like this for my car.

Grot
03-15-2009, 07:46 PM
decent looking, but not my kind of thing

METDeath
03-15-2009, 08:29 PM
I'm more interested in the Neeltec qwad headlights for the 5th gen... but they run 1k USD after shipping and such, and aren't in production any more...

KM
03-15-2009, 11:04 PM
Casting some dual headlights would be similar to those afterburners, so I might as well look into those as well, then.

I've been doing custom enclosures for about 3 years.
I've cast light fixtures before, just never on a car.

KM
03-15-2009, 11:57 PM
I knew I shouldn't have thrown out my dead headlights. Now I gotta use my new ones as a base mould. pahah

Shadowlife25
03-16-2009, 01:56 AM
lol.

Those tail lamps do look really nice. Let me know if I can help in any way.

METDeath
03-16-2009, 02:38 AM
I think the hardest part is going to be the whole what bulbs/housings to use, and making an adapter harness for the H4 plug into whatever plugs you run on the new setup... Which a low beam HID projector and a high beam halogen set up would be pretty awesome... but that's just me.

KM
03-16-2009, 02:57 AM
There's obviously a big difference between the design of Gen5 and Gen6 taillights, so I've got to think about how it'll work.

The aesthetics are the easy part. 3 bulbs aren't hard to cast. ;)
I guess I'll go up to the auto parts store and take a look at the bulbs.

But I think this would look pretty neat on a Gen5.

KM
03-16-2009, 03:33 AM
Most likely, I'll be using German diamond ballast housings and Xenark HID bulbs.