PDA

View Full Version : new thermostat



BEAMS
03-18-2005, 01:37 AM
Im replacing my radiator, the cap blew off while i was stuck in traffic and i lost almost all my fluid, and the radiator is now cracked. Do i need to replace my thermostat, since im not sure if the old cap just couldnt hold pressure anymore, or if the thermostat is broken? I think i should, just want to be sure.

Dr.Auto
03-18-2005, 06:12 AM
Cost of new engine = Apx $2000

Cost of new rad cap = Apx $10

Cost of new T-stat = Apx $10

:slap:

BEAMS
03-18-2005, 06:48 AM
Well mine actually cost $25 from smothers, dam over priced parts. Also could of got the $40 thermostat with "fail safe".

Dr.Auto
03-20-2005, 04:52 AM
all I'm saying is just consider the price you may have to pay if one of those things goes bad and you toast your engine. What's $50 in compared to a new engine? Yes there's testing precedures for these components but if you don't have the tools to test them and they are doubtful then just replace them.

SilverCel
03-26-2005, 08:29 AM
Is the thermostat on the 5sfe in the upper hose?

using 1st toyota parts's diagram it looks like its in the upper hose..

Punisher
03-27-2005, 10:14 AM
Left side of the block directly above A/C compressor.. Damn A/C comp gets in the way of taking that pipe off the block.. I think thats what gets in the way.. (to drunk)