PDA

View Full Version : 90 Celica GT help

TheCosmikshame
01-29-2009, 08:34 PM
Well I'm new to this site and I just bought a used 1990 celica gt.
don't know much at all about toyota's, and I'm not too experienced with modding cars but I work as a mechanic and I am very interested, was just wondering if you guys could help me out on some specs and easy ways to give it some more power.

It has the 2.2l engine in it which I believe is the 3sFE ? I want to put some money into it, nothing too much, just enough to make it noticably faster than it is, and give me something to do. I was thinking of
intake (short ram or DIY cold air)
header
high-flow cat
2,5" pipe all the way back

just wanted on some opinions on some cheap and easy ways to do it, and if its worth it, the car has 177,000 miles on it but it runs great, engine hasnt given me, or the old owner any problems.

thanks

Freshnicity
01-29-2009, 08:42 PM
You have a 2.2L 5SFE motor.

All the mods you listed will you get a little more power, nothing crazy though, noticeable, meh yeah probably.

You can also look into forced induction, and fabbing a 5SFTE, which is the motor you have now, just turbo'd. Wouldnt recommend it on THAT motor in your car, because its a REV1, which means no knock sensor. But another 5SFE from a later year, like 94+ would be good, since they are REV2 i believe.

But if you arnt looking for forced induction, and just want some decent/low cost mods, you got it all covered.

Maybe look into more aggressive cams, or getting yours grind.

Hope that helps, welcome to ctech

burnyd
01-29-2009, 08:55 PM
unfortunately theres not much you can do with cheep power, just intake header, exhaust really... you can make decent power off of a 5sfte turbo setup might want to look that up in the forced induction forums... 412 are you from pgh?

METDeath
01-29-2009, 09:09 PM
You could also look into handling improvements, go faster around the corners and what not.