PDA

View Full Version : new 2 the celicas world

celikris
03-12-2005, 03:05 AM
first off im a newbie so hello 2 all owners. i recently(3 weeks ago) came into owning a 91 st and am interested in finding ways to improve it. so ive got a few questions,1 what is the blacktop?2 would it be better to swap out the engine or would it i be able 2 get a good amount of horses from parts? and last how hard is it to change the half shafts(oh ya im a newbie at mechanics also).in my owners manual it says something about a tool but only list a part #. ty all and im glad i found this site

91CelicaGT13
03-12-2005, 03:31 AM
1. A blacktop is a kind of engine for the ST because the ST comes with the 4-AFE and the GT comes with the 5sfe (notice the difference between the A and the S in the engine codes) and it is a direct drop in (no modification to motor mounts) as the 3S-GTE is to the GT and GTS. Here is a good article which has a lot of information on it along with the silvertop engine: http://www.celicatech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3479&highlight=Blacktop+Swap

2. Since there is limited aftermarket support for the entire 5th generation family (especially the STs) you would get a considerable amount more horsepower if you did a blacktop, silvertop, 4agze swap, and more that I'm missing swaps into your ST. You could also turbo your 4AFE, search for 4-AFTE in the forums and you should find something.

3. If it gives you a part number then go to your nearest toyota dealer and tell them the part number and they can look it up to see what the part for the corresponding number is and you could also ask them if it would be to change your halfshafts. Because personally I do not know how to do it myself.

Welcome to the Toyota Family!

Peace,

Kevin

creech_r
03-12-2005, 11:09 PM