PDA

View Full Version : Introduction...and a couple general questions...

balb1427
11-17-2008, 06:03 AM
Hey all...

I'm brand new to the celica world, as I have had my celica for 40 hours.. :wiggle:

I think I got a pretty good deal. It is a 1990 Toyota Celica GT Red. I purchased it for $1300....HOWEVER
It requires(ed) some maintenance.

1. New windshield [x] $200
2. New Clutch [ ] $145 for Clutch (brings me to my question..)
3. Grease front axles...[ ] $???

Questions
1. Clutch is brutal. Slips like none other, and stinks...BAD..My friend claims it smells like burnt macaroni and cheese? :wtf:
My friend, My dad, and myself are planning on doing the clutch ourselves. Do you think we can do it? My friend and his dad replaced his clutch in his 1999 Mx-5, so I'm going to have him help us along.
I am going to purchase an extremely detailed manual, and we will pick a
weekend, and just take our time, follow instructions, and be very patient.
I feel like we can do it, and its worth saving the total of $700 to have the
shop do it.
http://www.clutchcityonline.com/products/16-072.shtml
Thats the clutch I am planning to buy...any other suggestions? (its hard to beat the price, as money is tight for me)

2. Grease the axles? Is this a fairly simple task? not really sure all that much that goes into it.

As for pictures, they will come soon enough. It is totally stock and I have some plans, but who knows what will happen....

({({Sorry if I didn't put this in the right place, I wasn't totally sure. I looked around and didn't see any other introductions**)**)**)**)**)

only picture I have right now...
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b84/Balb1427/celica1.jpg
paint is bad/faded on a lot of the car...IDK what I'm going to do with that. I'll probably just keep it...who knows..

Shadowlife25
11-17-2008, 06:08 AM
Welcome to Celica Tech, and congrats on your purchase! :)