PDA

View Full Version : automatic transmission question



91stxcelica
07-24-2008, 11:55 PM
is the only way to change the auto fluid to pull off the pan and filter or is there some kinda drain plug i can use.

thanks
-91 celica st 4afe auto

Galcobar
07-25-2008, 12:20 AM
Drain plug is actually on the pan. Toyota as a rule doesn't use filters in their automatics, opting instead for a lifetime metal screen.

Fluid: ATF DEXRON  II
Capacity:
A241 E 8.0 liters (8.5 US qts, 7.0 Imp. qts)
A243L 7.7 liters (8.1 US qts, 6.8 Imp. qts)
Drain and refill (Reference):
3.3 liters (3.5 US qts, 2.9 Imp. qts)

91stxcelica
07-25-2008, 01:11 AM
thanks! so is the drain plug the bolt thats on the bottom of the pain? i guess ill unscrew it some and find out.

91stxcelica
07-25-2008, 03:34 AM
Ok im confused, do i new 8 quarts or 4?

thanks,

91stxcelica
07-25-2008, 03:54 AM
ok i found out on autozones website its 9.8 quarts, dang..

Galcobar
07-25-2008, 05:25 AM
I'd suggest going with the information from Toyota's repair manual rather than Autozone.

Capacity = how much it can hold total.
Drain and refill = how much you need to refill it after draining it.

The difference is that draining the transmission does not empty it to the same extent as removing it from the engine and cleaning it out.

91stxcelica
07-25-2008, 02:18 PM
well i drained it and refilled with with 4 quarts and it is still low, so i have no choice but to add more till its full.

beingblueeyes
07-25-2008, 08:21 PM
I donít know it Toyota autos are like this but to check the atf level and have it show right, the atf needs to be up to temp and the motor needs to be running (GM)

91stxcelica
07-25-2008, 08:54 PM
i got it all figured out, i ended up having to add 1 more quart, (5 quarts) to get it filled.