PDA

View Full Version : why can't i screw in my ARP head studs? there is not enough clearance for a socket



iwamaryu
07-12-2008, 03:58 PM
hey guys! i don't know why after searching this forum, no body has had this problem, maybe I'm doing something wrong?

I can't seem to screw the nut onto my ARP head bolts because there is not enough/barely-any clearance. the clearance trouble is the metal that makes up the cylinder that holds the shim buckets, protrude in the way of the head stud/nut

since there is barely any clearance for the NUT to go on that makes it impossible to use to a 1/2" drive socket(12mm) to screw it down, cause the socket goes around the nut.

here I'll produce some pics so you can understand what I'm on about

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h228/iwamaryu/arp%20hardware/IMG_0124-1024x768.jpg
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h228/iwamaryu/arp%20hardware/IMG_0126-1024x768.jpg
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h228/iwamaryu/arp%20hardware/IMG_0127-1024x768.jpg
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h228/iwamaryu/arp%20hardware/IMG_0128-1024x768.jpg
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h228/iwamaryu/arp%20hardware/IMG_0130-1024x768.jpg
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h228/iwamaryu/arp%20hardware/IMG_0131-1024x768.jpg

And this picture will show my problem with my socket, look it can't even go down flush with the surface, it doesn't have enough clearance and is stuck between metal. it's a 1/2"drive,12mm socket. and it's s sidchrome, not some cheap shit.
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h228/iwamaryu/arp%20hardware/IMG_0142-1024x768.jpg

i tried to use a 1/4" drive 12mm socket, but they only come in 6 pointed sockets, i need 12 pointed socket. even if they did come in 12 point sockets i don't think the socket or the extension bar will be able to handle up to 60 foot pounds which is what is required to bolt down the head nuts.
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h228/iwamaryu/arp%20hardware/IMG_0147-1024x768.jpg

T-spoon
07-12-2008, 07:48 PM
Have you tried a deep 12 point? Your clearance issue is the top of that socket where the drive connects, a deep may be narrow enough. I had this problem on my 7m actually. I had the machine shop take out a bit of that material once the head was finally off to correct that. As long as the nut itself has clearance to come out then the deep socket might do the trick. Another option if the nut has clearance is to just use a hex/allen wrench to back the entire stud out which you'll want to do to pull the head off anyway.

Buuut, if you're putting on rather than taking off that last one may not be an option unless you back the stud out, put the nut on and then the stud back in but uh, I don't know that that is a good idea to torque the stud rather than the nut since it'd be pretty tough to tell how far in the block the stud was getting.

Corey Darling
07-12-2008, 08:31 PM
I know what you are talking about. it is tight. But the socket i used - mastercraft - had no clearance issues.

Maybe try a different brand of socket. It might have a smaller overall diameter.

Galcobar
07-12-2008, 08:42 PM
A 3/8" of good quality can handle the 60 ft-lbs, which should be enough of a compromise to give you the narrowness you need in the socket -- they're also much easier to find in twelve-point.

vip09
07-12-2008, 09:43 PM
I used a craftsman 3/8 drive 12pt 12mm. I had to put the socket in the drill press and drill out the center to make it a little deeper so that I couuld get the nuts all the way down on the studs. A deep well would not work for me on that one stud. I had to get the short socket with an extension to make it work.

T-spoon
07-12-2008, 10:52 PM
I used a craftsman 3/8 drive 12pt 12mm. I had to put the socket in the drill press and drill out the center to make it a little deeper so that I couuld get the nuts all the way down on the studs. A deep well would not work for me on that one stud. I had to get the short socket with an extension to make it work.

Oooooh yeah, even on my deep I had to drill out the center also, forgot about that.

iwamaryu
07-13-2008, 02:59 AM
Oooooh yeah, even on my deep I had to drill out the center also, forgot about that.

what do you mean drill out the center? you mean drill the head for a bigger clearance?

T-spoon
07-13-2008, 03:11 AM
Well, like Vip was saying to get the socket to go down far enough he and I had to drill some of the material out of the center of the socket. You see how your 12 point the hole in the center is wide, almost to the outside edges. Mine had only a tiny hole in the center so that the stud would hit it and not allow the socket to go down fully onto the nut.

iwamaryu
07-13-2008, 05:24 AM
ohh i get yeah now, they should of made the studs a little shorter shorter. i'm looking on ebay now for a good 3/8" socket set, hopefully this will solve my problems