PDA

View Full Version : Temp Control



Coffeeman
06-06-2008, 01:02 AM
I have a temp control knob that spins and spins. Consequently the A/C doesn't blow cold any more. What would I have to replace to ge it repaired?

Shadowlife25
06-06-2008, 01:22 AM
Which HVAC panel do you have? The manual or "auto" ?

Either way, you'll want to replace the whole HVAC unit. You can probably find one in a wrecking yard for a decent price. As for your A/C not blowing cold, either you simply need a re-charge, or you have a leak that needs fixing and still need a re-charge. ;)

Shadowlife25
06-06-2008, 01:23 AM
Welcome to C-Tech! :D

Coffeeman
06-06-2008, 01:26 AM
Which HVAC panel do you have? The manual or "auto" ?

Either way, you'll want to replace the whole HVAC unit. You can probably find one in a wrecking yard for a decent price. As for your A/C not blowing cold, either you simply need a re-charge, or you have a leak that needs fixing and still need a re-charge. ;)
How do I tell if it is manual or auto?

Shadowlife25
06-06-2008, 01:28 AM
If it's automatic, it should have a button around the middle of the panel that has "auto" silk-screened on it. Just hit an auto-wrecker and find one that is the same. I wouldn't expect it to run you more than $50 at the high-end.

Coffeeman
06-06-2008, 01:48 AM
No "auto" button in sight si I guess I have the manual version. Thanks for your assistance!

andy
06-06-2008, 03:42 AM
you need to remove the gauge bezel and such, dont forget to remove the a/c cables first otherwise that joker aint goin nowhere.

Shadowlife25
06-06-2008, 05:53 AM
^^ True :) It's not hard to do though. Takes about 10 minutes start to finish.

Coffeeman
06-06-2008, 12:49 PM
you need to remove the gauge bezel and such, dont forget to remove the a/c cables first otherwise that joker aint goin nowhere.
Do the A/C cables remove from the back of the HVAC unit? I got the gauge bezel off but you are correct the joker aint moving?

ciento44
06-06-2008, 02:42 PM
Time out guys....

Dude, are you just talking about the knob spinning? Or is the post it sits on spinning, too?

If it's just the black knob that's spinning, shoot me a PM with your address, i'll drop a good one in the mail for you.

Coffeeman
06-06-2008, 03:10 PM
the mechanism seems to work ok for about 90 degrees of travel then the knob and shaft spin but the gears do not turn.

Coffeeman
06-07-2008, 11:09 PM
Having problems locating the cables. I found and unhooked the one black cable with insulation on it. the other appears to be blue and I can't follow it to the connector. Any help?