PDA

View Full Version : beams swap transmission questions

CelicaHero
05-29-2008, 04:43 AM
beams swap transmission questions
ok so i'm new to celica tech. i have had a 92 gt for 2 years and after researching engines to swap into it i have finally decided to go with the red top beams 3sge. i know it will hook up to my stock transmission and from what i have heard from people is that a higher performance clutch is suggested. i have a ceramic center force clutch in it now and i think that will be enough. but i was also thinking about putting a UR kevlar clutch in. i am also planing on doing all this in my driveway. i was wondering how i should go about doing this. should i install the flywheel, clutch, pressure plate, and bell housing and then install the tranny ? or does anyone know a better way? also does anyone know of a better transmission i could get to handle more power? i would like to get more power out of the engine when i have the money so i want to be ready when i do. also does anyone know of any other treads that have clutch assembly pictures or have any that they could post. thanks for taking the time to read and answer any of my questions.

-Matt

zen
05-30-2008, 12:36 AM
being that the 3sge is still in the "s" series engines, you could use the V6 camry/solara e153 transmission on it. This transmission can handle the abuse of the new engine. The other option is the e153 from the mr2 turbo but, you'll need to swap over the gear selector from the alltrac shifter cable holder. if you decide to go with either transmission, you'll also need hybrid axles (mr2 inner axles or camry/solara driverside inner and mr2 turbo passenger side axle with the bearing hub, alltrac outter axles). Also, a rear alltrac motor mount with an alltrac crossmember bar or you can fabricate the mount to work with the stock crossmember bar.

KoreanJoey
05-30-2008, 06:10 AM
You will need to run a 3SGE or 3SGTE flywheel. The 3S series crank has a different bolt pattern than the 5SFE.