PDA

View Full Version : Dash brake light



acidice333
05-15-2008, 03:42 AM
My (parking) brake light on the dash comes on. At first it came on cause I was low on fluid after I bled one and didn't hink it was low cause it was jacked up so I topped it up and it went away. Now I'd say about a day later, the light is back on.

Fluid is between the min/max marks, so what is the problem?

extremeskillz
05-15-2008, 03:55 AM
fill it to max the post back results. could also be the float sensor going.

acidice333
05-15-2008, 04:04 AM
Yeah I filled it to the max and it was still on but I will test it with a multimeter tommorow to see if its working properly.
eBrake switch is working fine since I have a LED connected to it. Is there anything else linked to the light on the dash?

acidice333
05-15-2008, 04:59 AM
well I tested it with a multimeter and it seems to work. I don't remember what I did, but it went off.. then I took it out and it came on, put it back on and it stays on so proably the switch is faulty.

acidice333
05-15-2008, 08:59 PM
well I have no idea lol.

Last night it was on and wouldn't go off. Now today its off, haven't driven it yet tho.

extremeskillz
05-15-2008, 09:06 PM
Its probably the float switch in the reservoir. Time to replace it and it should stay off.

acidice333
05-15-2008, 09:35 PM
Yeah that was my thought but I played with it when I took it out and use the multimeter and it seemed to work. But anyways, what is the part # for that? I was trying to find it on 1sttoyotaparts but I couldn't find it =/

Shadowlife25
05-15-2008, 10:28 PM
I'd be more concerned with the fact that you said you topped it off (which would indicate Max. fill) and a day later it has "lost" fluid...

wraithlj101
05-15-2008, 10:56 PM
brake lines seeping? leaking calipers/wheel cylinders?

acidice333
05-16-2008, 07:34 AM
I dont think it lost fluid in the first place cause I had the car jacked up and the level looked fine so I didn't bother to top it off after I bled it. So after taking a test drive, I found out it was low since I didn't notice the light before cause I had the brake on the whole time.

Drove it today, seems fine.

celicaGT90_05
05-16-2008, 07:37 AM
so all this for nothing? lol so your ebrake light switch was on? I've done that with the geo before because the light can be on without the parking brakes engaged

acidice333
05-16-2008, 08:15 AM
No no no. When I bled the brakes, I had the car jacked up and the ebrake on so I couldn't tell if there was something wrong.

I've been lately having the light come on, seems to happen when I take a corner harder and fast. Seems to have stopped now.

celicaGT90_05
05-16-2008, 10:16 AM
if its doing it when you take a corner hard, it would be due to the fluid because, well, for obvious reasons. Monitor your level and make sure you dont have a leak

acidice333
05-21-2008, 03:50 AM
well dealership wants $150CND for a new reservoir cap but wouldnt give me part #. Anybody know the part #? I wanna see how much it is on 1sttoyotaparts. I'll probably just wait till I get to a junkyard and pull one.

Blackcloud
05-21-2008, 04:13 AM
i forgot what it was.. but that indicates something else too....