PDA

View Full Version : Custom Boost Gauge



baktasht
04-14-2008, 06:52 PM
Hi guys, ever since the release of our custom boost gauge for the MR2 last week I have had a few calls from Celica owners asking if we can make something similar for the ST185. The answer is YES. I just need to know how many people would be interested first. After that I need someone to donate a spare gauge cluster that we can use for measurements, test fitting, and testing.

If you're not familiar with the MR2 custom gauge see here:
http://www.emspowered.com/storefront/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=61_62_64_74_75&products_id=208&zenid=bfef15bed19303b5902e972c302578c8

http://emspowered.com/productdevelopment/boostgauge/mr2_custom_boost_gauge_4.jpg

http://emspowered.com/productdevelopment/boostgauge/mr2_custom_boost_gauge_5.jpg

http://emspowered.com/productdevelopment/boostgauge/mr2_custom_boost_gauge_7.jpg

http://emspowered.com/productdevelopment/boostgauge/mr2_custom_boost_gauge_9.jpg

celica9303
04-18-2008, 01:45 AM
I like it

19celica90
04-18-2008, 02:03 AM
id be very interested, but could the gauge be a needle to make it look more factory-ish?

baktasht
04-18-2008, 05:58 AM
Currently I'm only able to do digital.

KoreanJoey
04-18-2008, 07:40 AM
Would you be able to substitute a Wideband gauge by chance?

baktasht
04-18-2008, 04:22 PM
Would you be able to substitute a Wideband gauge by chance?
Yes, we can have any gauge made to fit a certain spot. The first thing though is to get the layout and design made for the circuit board, display, filter, and mounting arrangement. For this I need to see where you guys want the gauge put in your gauge clusters.

Luni
04-19-2008, 01:42 PM
Well Tash, the only place on a celica would be on the gauge to the left, and its all 1 circuit board.

It isnt as easy as in an MR2. The boost gauge is part of the actual gauge cluster itself where as on an Mr2 it has its own seperate piece.

Sean
04-19-2008, 11:17 PM
I would be interested :)

baktasht
04-21-2008, 08:08 PM
Hmmm, anyone have various pictures of the celica/alltrac gauge clusters? Maybe even a few pics with it taken apart?

CriScO
04-21-2008, 09:06 PM
Hmmm, anyone have various pictures of the celica/alltrac gauge clusters? Maybe even a few pics with it taken apart?

Not sure of the exact differences between the st16x and st18x clusters, but I've been planning to take out my hatchback's cluster for a while now, you just gave me an excuse to get it done. :)

So I'm not sure if it will help, but I'll take out the cluster today. If pics of a fourth gen GT cluster will help at all let me know.

CriScO
04-22-2008, 04:12 AM
Still unsure if it will help, but since I was taking it apart anyway here you go...

Fourth gen GT cluster:
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c368/FatherCriScO/Cluster/Cluster01.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c368/FatherCriScO/Cluster/Cluster02.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c368/FatherCriScO/Cluster/Cluster03.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c368/FatherCriScO/Cluster/Cluster04.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c368/FatherCriScO/Cluster/Cluster05.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c368/FatherCriScO/Cluster/Cluster06.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c368/FatherCriScO/Cluster/Cluster07.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c368/FatherCriScO/Cluster/Cluster08.jpg

I'm fairly sure the 5th gen has an electronic speedo, otherwise I'd guess the layout is basically the same. I know you guys will correct me if I'm wrong. :)

baktasht
04-22-2008, 07:03 AM
Thanks for the pics, that's exactly what I needed to get an idea of what we can or can't do. The easiest spots would be where the oil & voltage gauges are. The other spots could also be easily done as well.

What does the ST185 cluster look like externally and internally compared to the one posted.

Denver_whiteST185
04-22-2008, 07:58 AM
all 5th gen clusters are relitivly the same, FYI. however 4th gen's are a bit different.

im thinking about doing an LED conversion. if i do that, i'll take some pictures for you. however, you may want to find a junk yard near you and pull a cluster out of a 5th gen ST/GT/GTS. you'll notice that GTS's have a volt gauge, where ST/GT celica's dont. alltrac's have their little stock boost gauge, which is in the same location as the GTS's Volt gauge.

Blue91CelicaGT
04-24-2008, 02:42 PM
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/5/8/3/8/cluster.jpg
I dont know how you would make something like that for us as our -/+ (aka "boost") gauge is incorparated with our temp and fuel guage, without replacing the whole assembly.

Of course if you did I would buy one :bowdown:

baktasht
04-24-2008, 04:34 PM
^^ That shouldn't be to hard. Basically we would make a large gauge that would replace the triple one on the left. We could probably fit 4 or 5 digital readouts in that space. We could maybe do 2 digital readouts and 1 digital readout + LED sweep as well. What does the inside of that cluster look like?

Rick89GTS
07-10-2008, 07:17 AM
Crisco, good time to roll back your mileage, haha :hehe:

CriScO
07-10-2008, 09:05 AM
Psh, if I didn't do it to the coupe's cluster when I had it out:
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c368/FatherCriScO/Coupe%20Cluster/CoupeFaces002.jpg
Then I'm definitely not doing it to the one with only 124k! :)

manu
07-15-2008, 06:46 PM
I'd buy one! If you mailed it all the way to Malaysia....

baktasht
07-15-2008, 07:30 PM
I'd buy one! If you mailed it all the way to Malaysia....
we ship worldwide

CriScO
07-16-2008, 07:01 AM
BTW Tash, I'll probably be heading to the junkyard next week. I'm planning to look for fifth gen clusters while I'm there for a project of my own. Did you still need to see one of those taken apart? I can probably donate it too once I get what I need out of it.

I highly doubt I'll find the All-Trac cluster, and the GT-S will be only slightly less difficult, but the ST/GT should be easy. With all the swapped GT's out there it may be worth it, though...

baktasht
07-19-2008, 06:32 AM
BTW Tash, I'll probably be heading to the junkyard next week. I'm planning to look for fifth gen clusters while I'm there for a project of my own. Did you still need to see one of those taken apart? I can probably donate it too once I get what I need out of it.

I highly doubt I'll find the All-Trac cluster, and the GT-S will be only slightly less difficult, but the ST/GT should be easy. With all the swapped GT's out there it may be worth it, though...
Sure thing. if there's a cheap used one there I'll take it off your hands for R&D.

manu
07-19-2008, 07:27 PM
Mine is a JDM gt4 cluster...so the rpm and the fuel/temp/boost is on the opposite side as the USDM alltrac...will this make a difference? (i dont care which side what is on, as long as they work)

Luni
08-14-2008, 02:29 AM
Looks like the gauge would be easy to do for a 4th gen but the 5th gen one would be trickier.

Anyone got a USDM ST184/185 gauge cluster Tash could use? Someone needs to donate one if you celica guys want this done.

I can say I have this gauge in my MR2 and its awesome.

Shadowlife25
08-14-2008, 03:25 AM
I'll pick one up this weekend.

Tash, send me a PM with your mailing address or wherever you want this sent to.

CriScO
08-14-2008, 03:28 AM
There's lots of random interior mods that are easy as hell on a fourth gen. :)

As usual my junkyard trip got postponed again, but next time I get there I'm getting a 18x cluster. If it's still needed whenever I get there the one I get will be donated. Once I scan the faces I've no reason to keep it around.

Luni's right though, the 184/185 cluster will probably have to be donated. I doubt I'll find anything above the GT trim.

Edit: Well, there we go, Mario's on it before I even finish typing. :)

Shadowlife25
08-14-2008, 03:39 AM
Edit: Well, there we go, Mario's on it before I even finish typing. :)

:hehe: I'm headed out to the yard on Friday anyhow, so I figured why not?

BmbleBPGT94
08-27-2008, 01:02 AM
Thats sick...you think you could do something like that with a 94 probe gt cluter for my nitrous gauge?

dups90gt
08-27-2008, 01:37 AM
id want one!

baktasht
08-31-2008, 02:38 PM
Thats sick...you think you could do something like that with a 94 probe gt cluter for my nitrous gauge?
As long as there is a spot we can put it in the cluster, yes :)


Looks like there is plenty of interest. Now we just gotta finish up a few of the current projects, and then get back to work on these gauges.

Shadowlife25
09-01-2008, 12:16 AM
No offense, as I understand you're busy, but since you never got back to me I opted to not get the cluster. Good luck with everything.:)

baktasht
09-01-2008, 02:17 AM
No offense, as I understand you're busy, but since you never got back to me I opted to not get the cluster. Good luck with everything.:)
Sorry about that. I'm doing my best to finalize a few other current projects and new products so that we can recover some R&D money. The gauges for the Celica's will more than likely come early 2009.

dups90gt
09-01-2008, 07:43 AM
keep us posted!