PDA

View Full Version : Who has done what to improve mileage?

StockGT92
02-16-2008, 03:53 AM
Sooo the inital 4 mpg gain after installing my header has averaged out between three tanks of gas (I drive a LOT, long commute to work) to around 2 mpg. While I am not complaining, I would like to pick all of your brains. I am getting 24 average mpg in mixed, but 75% highway, driving.

I refuse to putt around; my goal is still to be able to drive a touch on the aggressive side and gain a few more mpg. I typically cruise at 70 on the expressway and I don't want to go slower.
The car hardly ever sees more than 4000 RPM.

The only mods I have currently are a K&N air cleaner in the stock housing, and an eBay "Surewin" header with stock exhaust.

Short of an ECM flash or major engine surgery, what do you think? Has anyone experimented with changing cam timing to move the torque peak of the engine up or down?

juggernaut
02-16-2008, 04:16 AM
i have no personal experience with it, but i know that advancing your cam timing moves your power curve down to lower rpms. retarding it does the opposite. im not absolutely sure if this would work, but you could try advancing your cam timing to bring the powerband down, so you can run lower rpms, thus lower fuel consumption. but a bottle of fuel injector cleaner could possibly help. not that stuff you dump in your tank, that barely works. look for the stuff you hook up directly to your fuel line so the engine only runs off it. when the engine stalls, the can is empty and the job is done. not a drop of gasoline burned.

The Captain
02-16-2008, 04:27 AM
run your tire pressure 10% below max allowable pressure. While this may increase tire wear in the center of the tire, it will reduce rolling resistance. I run Nitrogen in my tires at 40psi. It doesn't get as hot and doesn't expand like air. I picked up a few MPG's. When I change to aggressive mode, I return it back to 34psi.

Murgatroy
02-16-2008, 06:23 AM