PDA

View Full Version : converting manual to power need info



zmile06
01-28-2008, 04:00 AM
I know there are threads about this but i couldn't find any direct answers to what i need.

I want a complete list of needed components. EVERYTHING. i have a 93 st so i won't need a relay wired up right?

How do i do the install need all the info on that also. Is there a plug in for the wiring harness and everything is it just plug and play? Or do i need to do some major wiring with some soldiering etc. And what do i swap in and how thanks.

celicaGT90_05
01-28-2008, 04:17 AM
...what are you converting?

Newbster
01-28-2008, 04:23 AM
Steering maybe?

KoreanJoey
01-28-2008, 04:57 AM
I'll swap ya. :) You want power, I want manual.

TheNefariousOne
01-28-2008, 05:06 AM
Windows and locks I'm presuming.

What you need:
Interior door panels + switches
Window motor
Power lock insides (not sure what to call them)
Door lock ECU (behind the radio)
Associated wiring

Honestly, your best bet (if you have a way to transport them) is grab the whole doors since you'll be pretty much taking everything from it except the door shell and the glass.

It's a very straightforward swap - basically you take the manual components off and replace them with their power counterparts and run the wiring into the car and plug it in. The places to plug it in are already there.

KoreanJoey
01-28-2008, 05:12 AM
Yeah I'll probably just stick in some lexan, bolt them in and call it good.

VikingJZ
01-28-2008, 06:04 AM
Joey do you have another car to drive? Or is your GT a DD?

KoreanJoey
01-28-2008, 06:21 AM
The GT is for the next week my DD... then the SSDD (super Secret Daily Driver) will be unveiled.

zmile06
01-28-2008, 11:18 PM
crappy anyways it's windows i tought the 92+ already had the relay? Am i wrong? Joey do u have a blue interior?

zmile06
01-28-2008, 11:21 PM
Oh and forgot to ask about the door lock ECU, is the wiring harness for that ECU in my car or do i need to pull all that out of the car? Is it going to be a big mess of wires and a pain in the ass to pull out?

TheNefariousOne
01-29-2008, 12:11 AM
Noo, all the wiring is already there. You just have to plug it in. I'm not 100% sure what you mean when you're talking about the relay. I just had to plug in the door lock ECU like I said, so yours being a 93, I'd assume it's the same.