PDA

View Full Version : Ignition timing?



zmile06
12-28-2007, 08:32 PM
I just had the timing belt replaced should i worry about replacing the distributor or anything?

Trance4c
12-28-2007, 09:13 PM
No.. but I would jump the diagnostic an make sure the timing is correct with a timing light.

http://www.celicatech.com/trance4c/CEL.pdf

You'll see that to put the car in diagnostic mode you will jump the TE1 & E1 terminals.

After that, use a timing light on the crank an make sure its at 10 degrees TDC. If it needs adjustment, rotate the distributor until you hit the desired number.

zmile06
12-28-2007, 11:53 PM
That looks really complicated...

Murgatroy
12-29-2007, 12:11 AM
It really isn't.

I did the timing on Chaos several years ago, and after changing the belt I didn't bother resetting it. She has run fine for 2+ years since I did that.