PDA

View Full Version : Fog light question



celicaGT90_05
12-15-2007, 03:54 AM
I was just wondering if the celicas had the fog light harnesses even if they didnt have the fog lights from the factory? Same for the switch harness, thanks

grayscale
12-15-2007, 03:55 AM
Yep, everything you need is already there.

celicaGT90_05
12-15-2007, 04:07 AM
kick ass, thanks, I am really lookin forward to gettin them in

90CelicaST
12-15-2007, 04:30 AM
Not so fast. Not all Celicas had the complete harness. I know there have been others, but personally, my ST does not have the complete harness for foglights.

grayscale
12-15-2007, 04:37 AM
Might be an ST thing. All of the GTs I've observed had them. What do you mean by "not the complete harness"?

david in germany
12-15-2007, 04:48 AM
My 93 st had the harness. Could be just a 90 thing that they didn't.

celicaGT90_05
12-15-2007, 04:49 AM
but the 90 GT should have it, correct?

grayscale
12-15-2007, 04:52 AM
The 90GT I owned had it all. You should be able to look for the signs of it easily enough.

celicaGT90_05
12-16-2007, 01:52 AM
ok....well I had an eventful day. I got the fog lights mounted and plugged in (sorry no pics, the weather is way too messy) and I went to take off the trim peice around the gauges to hook the switch up. There was a jammed screw so I had to drill it out...great, nothing major since I'll be swapping to a gray interior anyway, but after all the frustration....where the hell is the switch harness? I looked and could not find it tucked away anywhere. Granted I didnt disconnect the HVAC controls and take a real good look, didnt have the time but where exactly will it be tucked away at? I'd like to hook everything up and see how it all looks lit up!

Murgatroy
12-16-2007, 02:21 AM
`90 ST did not have the wiring. I think `91 ST didn't either. I think it would be a trim level cost thing. Cheaper in the factory to run a line of just ST for those model years, leaving out some to the groundwork for factory options that would not be available for that trim level.

It is my understanding that GT and higher trim came with the wiring, given the popularity of the options.

For the GT I think all you would need is the switch, the lights and mounting brackets and a relay. Put these in the factory places. Drive and be happy.

Murgatroy
12-16-2007, 02:23 AM
The switch harness should be on the drivers side upper cluster. There is a piece that pops out and the switch just pops in.

celicaGT90_05
12-16-2007, 02:24 AM
So it is behind the gauge cluster? As in I have to remove the cluster? No biggy just want to make sure before I dig in to it. I just need to get a relay but eh thats no biggy. Unless you're taking about where the switch mounts I already know that, I just need to know where the harness is

Murgatroy
12-16-2007, 02:37 AM
I think the harness would be behind there. I don't promise it as I have never been behind the cluster myself.

90CelicaST
12-16-2007, 04:05 AM
It should be taped onto one of the supports for the guage cluster, at least that's what I read.

celicaGT90_05
12-16-2007, 04:14 AM
Im looking for specifics, I couldnt find it attached to anything so far

celicaGT90_05
12-16-2007, 11:46 PM
bump, come on I need to know guys

grayscale
12-17-2007, 12:59 AM
Hmmmm, that was many years ago. IIRC mine was bouncing around in there. It's a small connector with four wires on it, green and black. I'll check mine and where it runs to with pics next week when I'm off work if you haven't had any luck by then.