PDA

View Full Version : Mitsu vs Yota

Conrad_Turbo
02-17-2005, 02:18 PM
So I am doing some work to a few CT26's in my shop and I had a chance to compare it to the nearest Mitsubishi variant, the TD05H-14B or it could possibly be the 14G. I am no expert in the Mitsu camp, but the 14B or 14G comes off the 1st generation (1G) DSM. The engine the turbo resides on has a displacement of 2.0L, but it's just amazing the difference of the turbine/turbine shaft design. I know there is a lot more to a turbo than just the turbine...but the CT26 looks like a monster to the Mitsu turbo. I wonder if the Mitsu crowd gripes and complains about their stock turbo as much as we do about the CT26? Haha.

Here are two pics comparing the two (dirty CT26 on the left and blasted mockup Mitsu on the right).

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v622/mixman1982/189_8909.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v622/mixman1982/189_8910.jpg

Here is the compressor map for the 14B and 14G (quite similar). Anyone know exactly what the 14B and the 14G reside on?

http://www.stealth316.com/images/td05-14b-raw.gif
http://www.stealth316.com/images/td05-14g-raw.gif

It's interesting noticing the differences between different company turbo design. The reason for all this research is that I will be building the TD05-CT26 adapter to allow for more options for 3sgte owners with turbo selection. I just want to learn as much as I can about the Mitsu camp and see how their equipment work with their engines. Also does anyone have the compressor map for the CT26 kicking around?

PerSonalHell
02-17-2005, 02:36 PM
I know that a lot of the dsm guys use the 14b as a upgrade for the t25, and some are running 11's on the stock turbo.

BTW - the pics don't work for me.

nuclearhappines
02-17-2005, 05:14 PM
see people never believe me when i tell them the CT-26 is HUGE. and it is ...

You can fit a T3 60 trim in the CT-26 housing... it's a big factory turbo....