PDA

View Full Version : Car noob here! Be nice :D

thelaw604
09-25-2007, 07:41 PM
Hi Everyone,

I've been lurking around for awhile now before I took the plunge and bought my first Celica a few months ago... Now... I'm absolutely in love with this car!

A little bit about me:
I was away from home for a co-op term during the summer and needed(wanted) a car to get around. I figured... why not get a beater car with standard transmission to get around and learn how to drive stick? I car hunted for about a month on craigslist and other classifieds which led me to CelicaTech. I finally found a 1986 Celica GTS Coupe in decent shape for $700. I had my friend take a look at it back home and make the purchase for me so I can fly back and drive it over to Calgary. I picked up stick in like two hours and it's a blast to drive! I don't think I can go back to auto... until I'm like 50.

Anyways, when I got back home, I was teaching my younger brother how to drive stick and of all things he does, he runs parallel over those cement blocks in the parking lot and wrecks my entire exhaust system. Even though the cat and muffler are salvageable, it'll still cost about $500 to fix at the shop. I didn't think it was worth it to fix because the body of the car isn't in the greatest shape, so I decided to go look for another 4th gen Celica.

I completed the sale last night and now a proud owner of a 1989 Celica GTS Hatch! The seller was asking for $1200 but managed to get it down to $960 because of some minor things my cousin found. My experience so far has been pretty good with cars and I really enjoy fixing things up, so... I think I'm going to keep my old one and try and start learning how to fix up this "new" one I got. (Are they even compatible?)

I'm an aspiring accountant from Vancouver and have no experience with cars whatsoever, so I look foward to reading and learning a lot from the rest of you. So now... my first question is...