PDA

View Full Version : custom gauge cluster



Ricksta
08-27-2007, 02:17 AM
when i bought my mr2 the guy had put his wideband gauge inplace of the water temp on the speedo cluster. well obviously he took it so i had a hole there. i didnt want to buy a new cluster so im tryin to squeeze my boost gauge into the cluster. so far i grinded a hole in the back w/o damaging the speedo electronic crap. shit makes a mess lemme tell ya. ive got it so that it fits i just need to finish putting it together tomorro if i have time. heres what i did earlier.

http://i14.tinypic.com/4xw1cgx.jpg

celicatrd93
08-27-2007, 05:31 PM
post some pics when you done. and good luck

vip09
08-27-2007, 05:59 PM
Might want to check out this alltrac cluster.



Here are pics of the back side of my gauge cluster. also I have added the LED lights for my turn signals (green), check engine(orange), high beams (blue), and door ajar (red). Now I have to wire the connectors for the car side of it and then test everything.

As for the speedo I am using a electronic st205 sending unit. Not 100% sure it is going to work but I am pretty confident. I will let everyone know but that will be some time yet.

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y272/rm2932/gaugecluster001.jpg

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y272/rm2932/gaugecluster002.jpg

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y272/rm2932/gaugecluster003.jpg

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y272/rm2932/gaugecluster004.jpg

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y272/rm2932/gaugecluster005.jpg

extremeskillz
08-27-2007, 07:34 PM
^thats pretty sweet.

1EXQUIZITCELICA
08-27-2007, 10:57 PM
You must give me some major detail on how you got those gauges in the cluster... I have custom digital gauges for my Celi and i want it to look as stock as possible and yours looks bad a$$....

Ricksta
08-28-2007, 11:16 PM
You must give me some major detail on how you got those gauges in the cluster... I have custom digital gauges for my Celi and i want it to look as stock as possible and yours looks bad a$$....
ive seen stuff like that before it comes in a kit

celicatrd93
08-28-2007, 11:48 PM
that gauges is the shit. looks awesome.

VikingJZ
08-29-2007, 05:03 AM
That looks tight but I think a black faceplate would be nice instead of the carbon fiber. Also, the silver rings should be black as well. Regardless, it's a very nice cluster and a top-notch job.

1EXQUIZITCELICA
08-29-2007, 02:35 PM
Any ideas as where to get one??

andy
08-29-2007, 09:54 PM
i doubt you can just get one, that was most likely hand made from some carbon fiber sheet stock. you can order it online.

1EXQUIZITCELICA
08-29-2007, 10:20 PM
yeah but the housing looks like the stock housing......

Ricksta
08-29-2007, 10:36 PM
i doubt you can just get one, that was most likely hand made from some carbon fiber sheet stock. you can order it online.
my moms bf owns a custom muscle car shop. the cars he builds have clusters just like that. i asked him about them a long time ago and he said he buys them as a kit. i can ask him tonight where he orders from.

1EXQUIZITCELICA
08-29-2007, 11:01 PM
cool..... let me know so i can get me one. I want to try and stay away from having a bunch of gauges on top of the dash and off the A pillar.

andy
08-29-2007, 11:22 PM
yeah, somebody has ripped up a stock one. and cut the CF to fit.

DaneDog311
09-15-2007, 11:58 PM
that's so sweet

mar_phi6
09-16-2007, 07:35 AM
the kit must be expensive