PDA

View Full Version : damn wife.

Ricksta
07-09-2007, 03:51 AM
the wife has a seat belt issue, she doesnt wear it. she promised that she would wear it for now on but i dont trust her on it. is there anyway to wire something to the seatbelt so that if its not on the car wont turn on or if she takes it off the car shuts off?

extremeskillz
07-09-2007, 03:54 AM
What kind of car is it? You know the dummy light that reminds you to put your belt on? Make that a signal wire and attach it a wire on the ignition switch. The only way it will start is if the belt is in place. You may need to create a harness for this with a relay but it is possible. I have never done it before but i know it is possible. you will need to play are with the wires in the ignition switch to figure out which one turns the engine.

Think of it as like not holding the clutch down before starting a manual. THe car wont start right. Similar thing but now the safty belt is the switch to allow starting.

1990CelicaGT-S
07-09-2007, 04:05 AM
Or just smack her. Seat belts save lives, and money.

extremeskillz
07-09-2007, 01:31 PM
^or that. lol.

nuclearhappines
07-09-2007, 01:49 PM
volvos are annoying if you don't put the belt in, it causes people to stretch the seat blet around the BACK of the seat and plug it... noise goes away, person is still not wearing a seat belt.

One average a person gets into 5 accidents in his life, of all car accidents at least 60% are fatal...

which means that accidents are fatal 3 out of 5 times... so almost every other time you get in an accident without a seatbelt you SHOULD be dead.

seatbelts reduce the fatality of accidents by over 80%

basically this translates to a fatality once in every 12-13 accidents you get into (rather than once every other accident)...