PDA

View Full Version : what to do

evilcel
04-19-2007, 03:00 PM
My celica has been sitting for close to a year now. I feel like a pack rat not wanting to get rid of it. I dont really wanna try to get it going again, just want it for parts if I get another celi :) . Well theres a guy in south austin selling a 91 GT coupe (same thang i got) but the engine is seized. My engine was fine when I stopped driving it. Is it worth the time to swap the engine, I have no experience at all with this. I dont have the cash to pay a shop to do it either. Im afraid if I took this car I would end up with 2 non running cars. I havent even looked at this car yet, so Im not serious about getting it. My other option is to pull anything and everything I can and store it till I can afford another celica. I make enough money, but I have a child on the way and doctors bills to start paying off for it. My moms tired of my car sitting at her house, I told her it would be gone by my birthday (may 11th, hint hint :hehe:). Anyway, are there any options Im missing? I think Im just going to pull what I can for now.

Colossus20v
04-19-2007, 03:23 PM
whats wrong with your celica?

If your engine is fine and you need a car to drive and the new car is not rusted, I would say go fo it.

If your just swapping engines, you just have to pull both engines and then swap in the good one.

evilcel
04-19-2007, 03:37 PM
My celi had something electrical go bad. I found out recently that it was my starter that went bad. But since I didnt pull it and it was stcuk trying to start, it melted battery cables, battery terminals and some wires under the dash? I put in a new starter and battery and nothing happened. I dont have enough time to really check everything out. I would rather just start with a less molested celica. Is there a write up or site that would help with swapping the engines? I realize its probably more simple than I think, but I would like to make sure.

VikingJZ
04-19-2007, 03:37 PM