PDA

View Full Version : What do you know about thermoswitches?

PhillyDRFT
04-06-2007, 04:07 AM
http://nissaninfiniticlub.net/photopost/data/500/13306IMG_8070.JPG

I got this universal thermoswitch for my duel electric fans. Since it uses an external probe that goes outside of the fins (causing a delay I don't like). Could I snip off the probe and solder it upto a temp sender like gauges use? or are they different systems? I'm pretty new to electrical so I only know basics.

Thanks in advance guys.

grayscale
04-06-2007, 04:52 AM
I don't believe so. I think the temp sensing probe is like a thermometer. I'm not familiar with how, but the bulb end reads the temp mechanically(for lack of a better term) in the same sense that mercury does. It's not just an electrical thing which is why I say I don't believe so, but I'm not real sure. You don't have a factory radiator temp sender you can use? What do you mean by delay?

PhillyDRFT
04-06-2007, 05:19 AM
I don't believe so. I think the temp sensing probe is like a thermometer. I'm not familiar with how, but the bulb end reads the temp mechanically(for lack of a better term) in the same sense that mercury does. It's not just an electrical thing which is why I say I don't believe so, but I'm not real sure. You don't have a factory radiator temp sender you can use? What do you mean by delay?

I have a Sender and a Sensor on my intake manifold. There isn't a bubble at the end it's pressed flat. I thought the same thing of it being a mercury switch but I don't imagine them being adjustable since the wire inside would have to be a certan legnth from the well of mercury inside the thermometer. Since both the sender and the probe work on one wire I figured It's not too far fetched.

Edit: and by delay I mean since my fans are there to cool my water temp through the radiator I would like a direct signal of water temp as opposed to ambient heat from the radiator.

grayscale
04-06-2007, 01:38 PM