PDA

View Full Version : 3gen cam buckets



skippi66
02-17-2007, 01:00 AM
Does anyone know where I can get the 3gen 3sgte cam followers or buckets? or
used one's will also work at this.I'm putting them in a 2gen head so we can run higher lift cams

Dan_Q
02-19-2007, 12:59 PM
thats an interesting one..... what is the difference between the two types of buckets?(2nd gen and 3rd gen)? I assume they are avliable form toyota themselves if tuning shops can't help.....

I thought the main problem with high lift cams in a 2nd gen was the lobes clashing on the bucket guides in the casting? Could be totally wrong though!

I believe 1ZZ (gen7 engine) solid lifters work in the 2nd gen, they are not shim and bucket design- they come complete (integrated) in different sizes, and are lighter than the standard setup. Not sure on the cost of these though compared with others.

Dan_Q
02-19-2007, 01:39 PM
if your interested in 1zz's then have a read of this:

http://www.celicatech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22752

alltracman78
02-19-2007, 02:13 PM
The 3rd gen bucket/shim has the shim under the bucket, eliminating the shim flying out at higher lift.

But yes, you're better off running the ZZ buckets. Less weight.

Dan_Q
02-19-2007, 10:39 PM
Nice one alltracman, that clears things up in my head- i've seen aftermarket cams advertised as "inner shim" or "outer shim" so that explains that one too!

Thanks :)

skippi66
02-25-2007, 12:45 AM
We are putting a higher lift cams in. We stared out with a 1 gen 3sgte head with .400 lift at 264 duration, with shimless buckets 1sz-fe which we got from pass racing.
Now we are working on a 2gen 3sgte head cam has .426 lift 280 duration which we fill will work in the 1gen also, but now we need shim under buckets for more lift and maybe alittle more. But I don't know if the retainers are the same? Now here is the kicker we are using side draft 40 webers not a turbo, so I've
gotten some imformation and the buckets are in Japan, England

Dan_Q
02-26-2007, 02:22 AM
280 duration- awesome :)

just a note on using a GTE head with carbs- would you not be better running a GE head instead? I'm no expert but the inlet ports in a GTE head look fearsomely large.....

as for the retainers i'm not sure as i've never played with a rev3 3S. Good luck with it though, sounds like an interesting project :)

KoreanJoey
02-26-2007, 04:38 AM
They're still stupid big on the 3SGE...