PDA

View Full Version : Wrecked Title

supra97
02-14-2007, 10:56 PM
Since this car is my first car and I'm still new in the world of cars, I would like some clarification on the definition of a wrecked and salvaged title.

My car was in an accident 5 years ago and had a wrecked title, and it was shipped off to where I live and rebuilt.

How bad is this? Does a wrecked title = bent frame? I know it means the cost of repairs is greater than 75% of the value of the car.

Can I trust the rebuild job? I know some body parts look a little misaligned. Should I have even bought this car? I know it has a salvage title, but if it cost so much to repair, why the heck did anyone bother? And does that probably mean they rebuilt it cheaply?

If you guys need me to peer at the car and give you details on the condition of some things, I will do that. I'd like to know if my car is really worth putting more money into. I want to fix things like a dent in the rear left fender and fix up the body where it doesn't quite fit together right.

Is it worth my time/money?

CandianCelicaGT
02-14-2007, 11:47 PM
I know that when the appraiser came to look at my car after being rear ended, he gave it a wrecked title because it needed more $$ to fix then it was worth. But he said to me, that if I decided to take the money and fix it, that it would need both structural and mechanical inspection.

So you may want to ask your local DMV, motor vehicle registration, whatever you have about the rules because they vary by country, state/province, city, etc

DarkSideCelica
02-15-2007, 12:13 AM
wrecked title does not mean bent frame... it just means it's not worth it to fix (aka damages exceeded a certain percentage of the car's value)

these cars can be bought back, but it depends on u if u wanna fix it or not... it can be a good project car, or a parts donor car... some ppl buy the car back, donate it off and write it off their taxes cos they get more tht way

grayscale
02-15-2007, 03:20 AM