PDA

View Full Version : It Was Bound To Happen...

grayscale
02-13-2007, 02:31 PM
So I've been telling myself for a few months now "I really need to change that head gasket." I have had the infamous oil leak on the back side. Funny thing is I have the reciept from the previous owner where he had it changed at some point at the dealership where they should have used the new and improved gasket that's not supposed to have this problem. Anyhow, about three quarters of the way home from work this morning I smell coolant. Only had about 8 more miles to the house so I just kept on going. Temp never went up but when I got home and popped the lid, sure enough, there was the pretty green stuff bubbling out from under the head. Oh well, now I have a good excuse to do it.

Colossus20v
02-13-2007, 03:13 PM
Atleast it is broken so you can fix it and not just put a new HG in for no reason.

Are you going to just go with a stock HG or do some head work as well?

grayscale
02-14-2007, 02:34 AM
Do you mean stock hg as opposed to another hg? I wish I knew of one like a copper one or something. And no, I don't really have time for too much headwork other than the usual minor rebuild. Besides, I don't see the point with this head unless you can afford cams and I would rather keep my money for a whole other engine.

alltracman78
02-14-2007, 02:55 AM
Good thinking.
Get a headgasket set for a 99 Celica GT.

www.1sttoyotaparts.com

grayscale
02-14-2007, 03:06 AM
Get a headgasket set for a 99 Celica GT.
:??: Enlighten me, what's with the 99 hg?

alltracman78
02-14-2007, 04:30 AM
98 or 99 had MHG stock.
Better than your 92 one.

grayscale
02-14-2007, 05:04 AM
Do all the passages/jackets line up?

alltracman78
02-14-2007, 04:13 PM
They should.

KoreanJoey
02-14-2007, 07:30 PM
but you'll probably want to deck the head and the block...

alltracman78
02-14-2007, 07:39 PM
Not necessarily on the stock MHG....
I believe it's a bit more forgiving than aftermarket ones.