PDA

View Full Version : Okay, another question I need urgently answered.

supra97
02-09-2007, 12:53 AM
Some of you may or may not have read my other post.

I currently have a bent rim causing the car to shudder when driving.

It will cost me anywhere from $100-$150 to get this repaired.

Some folks have mentioned replacing it with another stock rim, but I can't seem to find any around here.

So, my other option is to purchase a pair of new aftermarket rims, for less than $200. Tricky to find probably because rims usually retail almost that much EACH.

If someone could point me to a place I can get a great deal on rims here in the Lower Mainland/Fraser Valley, that would be awesome.

Herein lies the problem though: my car came with 195/60R15 tires on it. IF I buy new rims to fit these tires, I suppose I cannot change to the stock Celica size tire of 215/50R later? Or is the difference small enough that it won't matter? Or are rims specific to exact sizes?

I am a newbie, yes...but hey everyone starts somewhere.

92CelicaST
02-09-2007, 01:19 AM
when my tires get here for my rims ill 4 14" with hub caps wheels and Tires almost brand new tires not sure of sizes but thought id let you know.

alltracman78
02-09-2007, 01:57 AM
The smallest she can go is a 15" wheel because of her front brakes.

Tire sizes are somewhat interchangeable to wheels.

For instance the stock wheel size for your car is 15 x 6.5".
You can run ROUGHLY anywhere from a 195 to a 225 size tire.
But it depends on sidewall size, and the particular tire.

Here is a good page on tire info. This should explain it so you can make an informed decision.
If not, let me know.

Tire size
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/techpage.jsp?techid=46

A whole bunch of info on tires. Read to your hearts content.
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/tiretech.jsp

supra97
02-09-2007, 05:54 PM