PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions

92CelicaST
02-01-2007, 01:04 AM
Well first im new to Celicas and the site. But im wondering what all i can do my a 1992 ST 5 speed, from what iv herd basically nothing that good. i have some ideas but need help finding sites or places to buy them from. Also is the a Club based in Western N.C.?

Heres a list of upgrades i would like if you know please help.

Cold air intake
Intake manifold
Camshaft
Roller Rockers
Stronger Valve Springs
Turbo or Supercharger
Lowering springs about a 1.5" drop
High performance Clutch
bodykit
full exhaust, high flow Cat., muffler, and Header
MSD wires and coils or distrubuter dont know what have looked
Front and Rear Strut tower bar/brace

thats all i can think of.

And a Few questions.
What Type of engine is in a ST?
How much power and torque does a ST engine have?
With all the upgrades listed above about how much power do you think it will have?

and if you can think of any other thing that would be of help please post

sorry for all the newbie questions
Thanks

ciento44
02-01-2007, 02:05 AM
First off, welcome. :)

Second... the ST with a good suspension will handle extremely well. Check out the suspension forum for ideas. I'm a noob on the subject, but i'm sure that there are people here that will be able to tell you exactly what you should get, like they did for me. :)

Now..... power. You've got a couple options. 4afe (which is the engin that you have) is weaksauce. Doesn't respond too well to bolt ons, which is mainly what you have listed here.

Sooo... you can turbo, which will make it highly entertaining, as well as mildly quick, or you can swap.

4age large port
4age 20v (silvertop or blacktop)
4agze (supercharged, will require somewhat of a bitch in terms of wiring.)

I believe the 4afe stock puts out something like 115hp to the crank. With the bolt ons that you have listed, it might put triple digits to the wheels, if you're lucky. :P