PDA

View Full Version : ATTN: Classique71 or anyone with contacts =P



bonbon
01-20-2005, 11:29 AM
hey stu, im looking for a engine, wondering if you knew anyone selling one

thanks dude

looking to spend around the 1k mark

ecu and loom would be much appreciated :D

-==L=a=N=c=E==-
01-20-2005, 11:59 AM
1k.... good bloody luck

what engine in particular, if its 3s-gte, tell him his dreamin :)

robbie
01-20-2005, 09:09 PM
I think he's looking for a 3s-ge actually.. But it would be a good idea to spend a bit more $ and buy a 3sgte :D

Classique71
01-21-2005, 08:01 AM
youve gort no hoppe of a 3sgte under a grand with ecu and loom .. try about double that minumum for a dodgy motor ..

for a 3sge - that might get you a gen 1 block from somewhere like toyospares in melb ..

the rest of the gear youd have to use off your car ..

I know of a gen 3 3sge thats arrived in brisbane out of a jap spec 204 ( 202 ?) that needs a buyer but i have no idea on price - youd easily be loooking over 3K for it at a guess

bonbon
01-21-2005, 11:56 PM
yeah just a plain ol 3sge

got quoted 1100 from ekw, and 1950 for the 1st gen 3sgte
might be more economical to find a half cut

but things considering i might put it off for a while longer agian... >.< insurance is due and i need new shocks =(

Classique71
01-22-2005, 01:55 AM
depends on what you want to do too

do you want the turbo or a tough NA ?

Mr2 motor from an Sw20 would be somewhere else to look at

The St204 cut in QLD was sold already

Jaemus
01-22-2005, 05:15 AM
a good friend of mine replaced his SW20 3SGE for $500 - second hand local motor with 90k klms

but that was with no loom/ecu but did have most of the accessories (alt, starter, etc)

kenshin
01-22-2005, 12:43 PM
but if ur going to replace ur engine its the 3sge already isnt it how come u need ecu and loom? best of luck tho if i do come across any contacts ill pass it on to u dude

Keyroo
01-22-2005, 11:28 PM
yeah u can pick up a 4th gen 3s-ge for 600 odd bucks, they aren't expensive,, and an apsolute plessure to replace and work on over the gte,,

Classique71
01-23-2005, 06:26 AM
you may be able to use the existing looms + ecu in conjuction with gen 1 intake manifolds - though like 4ag's they might have different wiring setups per generation - ie 20 valve Vs a smallport is totally different - otherwise youd see more 20V's out there


If you want to use later better designed systems - you *MAY* need to change the wiring ..


( gen2 3sgte to Gen3 3sgte or group a - Different ECU's - for eXaple )

bonbon
01-23-2005, 07:58 AM
yeah u can pick up a 4th gen 3s-ge for 600 odd bucks, they aren't expensive,, and an apsolute plessure to replace and work on over the gte,,

yeah i got quoted 1100 for a 1st or 2nd gen jap import
i think with the 2nd gen using the 2nd gen loom would make life easier.

i plan on swapping in a newer na engine for now, get the basic bolt ons like headers, zorst. then one day get some head work done.

with all that bullshit with turbo cars these days i want just want something that wont attract attention but still be abit of fun

im willing to buy a 2nd gen but the place doesnt have the loom or ecu (toyo-pro, part of ekw, for those who are intrested) so ill need to find the loom and ecu.

One question, does anyone know if extractors are the same over all the models of the 3sge? i might get them installed now while im still looking for a replacement if i can bring them over to a 2nd gen engine.

i might even get the jap ecu for now to play around with untill i blow the crap outta then engine i have now. :D

-==L=a=N=c=E==-
01-23-2005, 10:37 AM
extractors are the same for the 1st and 2nd gen.

Keep in mind, if yo use a 2nd gen motor, it isn't gonna be a direct fit in terms of wiring. If you get a 1st gen, it'll slot straigh tin.