PDA

View Full Version : Muffler Recommendation

csnow
01-19-2005, 12:06 AM
I need a muffler. Well I don't need one, but the one I have on my car has got to go! Way too loud :thumbsdow I would rather sacrafice a few ponies and be able to hear myself think. Any recommendations Celica crew?

85gtsblackman
01-19-2005, 12:11 AM
thrush turbo muffler ???

ummm id sugest getting a good sized resontor and go from there

csnow
01-19-2005, 12:25 AM
I am new to the import scene...always built 350 small blocks but decided to see how a reved up sewing machine would run. This celica was a pleasent surprise :) I would prefer something with a fairly soft sound, but with good flow. Yes, I know these two qualities are diametrically opposed i.e. (low noise vs flow). I was told that ovals were the best bet. I currently have a large round muffler that I would equate to a glass-pak of sorts in the V8 world. Any brand name ovals that I should look into?

Sean
01-19-2005, 09:09 PM
magnaflow... and typically, the longer the canistor, the quiter it will be. Dont go below 2.5 ID!

Lagos
01-19-2005, 09:53 PM
damn, nice intake manifold, Csnow!

csnow
01-20-2005, 12:02 AM
Sean,

What is a 2.5 ID?

csnow
01-20-2005, 12:28 AM
LOL.....I just checked under my car and I have 3" all the way to the rear and my muffler is a Magnaflow. Any other ones that are quieter.

85gtsblackman
01-20-2005, 12:35 AM
flowmaster?

stock?

Mike431635
01-20-2005, 05:03 AM
You can always add another muffler, which will quiet it down quite a bit.

Slider
01-20-2005, 07:20 AM
First off what kind of muffler do you have on there right now? And do you have a resonator?

If I were you I'd get a resonator put in if you don't have one already. The longer it is the quieter the exhaust will be. A resonator will probably not hurt your performance at all.