PDA

View Full Version : Help needed with Aircon Retrofit



MarkieMark
09-10-2006, 10:25 PM
Hi guys..

I need some help. I got the parts for an aircon retro fit sent to me from a Salvage Yard. Have all the main parts fitted, evaporator, codensor, compressor, but am trying to work out where the pipes go and where the brackets fix in the engine bay.

Especially... the big pipe coming from the evaporator round the side of the engine bay, then there is a bracket where it attaches to another short pipe where it goes to the compressor. Does this go around behind the water resevoir tank opening, or in front? Where does the bracket attach to?

Can anyone help me with a couple of photos please?

alltracman78
09-11-2006, 12:28 AM
If you have a LHD Celica, here.
If you have a RHD, you will have a harder time finding a pic here....

http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/1/6/3/engine045.jpg

MarkieMark
09-11-2006, 06:14 PM
Yes, have a LHD celica, hence my problem trying to get some reference in the UK. Got the parts shipped over from a US Salvage yard, and I think a few of the pipes have been bent a bit. Also, my power steering lines seem to be getting in the way a bit.

Am trying to fit into a AT180 with 4AFE engine. That photo is a great help. Thanks. Have you or anyone else got some closer ones of the part around the water reservoir filler cap?

I'm also changing all the seals to be R134a compliant. Luckily enough, you can use the ones from a Gen6 celica. Will do a write up when I finish.

acidice333
09-12-2006, 09:28 PM
Looking forward to the writeup (: I need A/C in my car, lol

alltracman78
09-13-2006, 02:28 AM
Well, you have a rather LARGE problem if you are trying to use US lines...
They are different.
The LHD and RHD have different lines.
They start on opposite sides of the car....

90CelicaST
09-13-2006, 06:22 AM
Jeremy, he HAS a LHD Celica, so he had to buy his parts from a US salvage yard, there are no problems as far as that goes.

david in germany
09-13-2006, 06:40 AM
I did this same install on my 93 st. You will need to bend the top of the fluid container away from the fender and stick the pipe behind it. be carefull that you don't break it, mine was still flexable enough to do it :). One thing I did miss when I fist did mine was the wire connection under the dash. It is taped to the wire loom and tucked up out of sight behind the condensor. Good luck and feel free to ask more questions!

david in germany
09-13-2006, 06:43 AM
OOps, almost forgot. If you go to toyota for the relay they have 2 listed for the application. One of them was $50 more than the other... You can use the cheap one :) :hehe:

MarkieMark
09-13-2006, 02:01 PM
Do you mean the 3 relays in the engine compartment (STi). If so, I pulled all of those from a wrecked Carlos Sainz as I knew Mr T charges a fortune for relays.

David, can you let me have any pics of the pipe around the water fill area. Specifically where that bracket attaches to the body work at the end of the pipe. Got the new ORings for the evaporator unit today, so that is going in tonight...

david in germany
09-13-2006, 02:11 PM
Do you mean the 3 relays in the engine compartment (STi). If so, I pulled all of those from a wrecked Carlos Sainz as I knew Mr T charges a fortune for relays.

David, can you let me have any pics of the pipe around the water fill area. Specifically where that bracket attaches to the body work at the end of the pipe. Got the new ORings for the evaporator unit today, so that is going in tonight...
Ok I will try to get them to you today.
How much did your parts run you?

david in germany
09-13-2006, 06:05 PM
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/7/8/4_252875.JPG
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/7/8/3_927368.JPG
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/7/8/2_427574.JPG
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/7/8/1_841522.JPG

MarkieMark
09-14-2006, 07:39 AM
Cost of the parts wasn't too bad, it as the shipping that stung me.
Thanks for the pics. Can't quite see yet how the bracket at the end of the hose fits. It attaches to the bodywork somewhere round there...
Do you have Power steering? Do the Power steering pipes get in the way of the aircon pipes around the top of the strut tower?


Ooooh you have the Cruise control fitted aswell. Is this on a 4AFE? Did you also retrofit it? I have the both a vacuum and a motor actuator here, speed control ecu and stalks, but haven't got round to doing it yet.

david in germany
09-14-2006, 07:12 PM
Cost of the parts wasn't too bad, it as the shipping that stung me.
Thanks for the pics. Can't quite see yet how the bracket at the end of the hose fits. It attaches to the bodywork somewhere round there...
Do you have Power steering? Do the Power steering pipes get in the way of the aircon pipes around the top of the strut tower?
The braket towards the front is just suspended in mid air :) ther was actualu no where for it to reach when I installed it. The PS lines still clear without modification but the strut tower bracket for the PS lines needs to be taken out and mounted over the AC line bracket for the best fit.


Ooooh you have the Cruise control fitted aswell. Is this on a 4AFE? Did you also retrofit it? I have the both a vacuum and a motor actuator here, speed control ecu and stalks, but haven't got round to doing it yet. Yes it is the 4afe but the cruise was stock. it is a little sensitive after all these years though but I havent taken the time to trouble shoot it.. Sometimes it works and some times it doesn't and some times it just shuts off...
let me know if you have any other questions, I am happy to help :wiggle:

VikingJZ
09-15-2006, 11:47 PM
I know this is kind of random...but I never replaced seals when I retrofitted my 1990. I bought one of those $40 kits and just gave it a shot. I had to refill once about a week later, but that was back in the middle of June. It's been blowing ice cold since then with no trouble or signs of it.

VikingJZ
09-15-2006, 11:47 PM
Oh...and my meat thermometer said 39 degrees Fahrenheit when I had it in the car


: )

caneman
09-16-2006, 11:39 PM
Oh...and my meat thermometer said 39 degrees Fahrenheit when I had it in the car: )
Just where did you insert this meat thermometer?

VikingJZ
09-17-2006, 04:44 PM
Well just into the middle vent by the clock.....either way....it's cold.

MarkieMark
09-19-2006, 04:16 PM
Have you got a website link for one of these kits?

david in germany
09-19-2006, 04:28 PM
http://www.autobarn.net/inrcosekit.html
http://www.jcwhitney.com/autoparts/Product/Pr-p_Product.CATENTRY_ID:2002875/c-10101/Nty-1/p-2002875/Ntx-mode+matchallpartial/N-10101/tf-Browse/s-10101/Ntk-AllTextSearchGroup?Ntt=r134a