PDA

View Full Version : Speed limiter on a 93 JDM clip?



GT4SOM
08-16-2006, 04:31 AM
I recently was on the highway just taking the car up to see if I can go pass the 120 mark on the gt. When I hit about 118 mph seems like the car hit some sort of governor, I was like thats funny, I swear this clip/ecu was from japan. Any kind of explination for this? Only thing I can think of is that the clip from japan must have had some sort of governor aswell on the ecu. Somone one help please.

Sean
08-16-2006, 05:28 AM
Yep, has a speed limiter on it :) Mine does as well...

allblackalltrac
08-16-2006, 06:41 AM
Im not 100% sure but I think the govenor is in the instrument cluster on a JDM. Are you guys using the JDM cluster?

Punisher
08-16-2006, 07:04 AM
I do believe that the JDM governor is actually set lower than the USDM ecu...

angryyoungnpoor
08-16-2006, 07:19 AM
How often are you racing around at 120 mph though? At the strip you better be runnin' 11's to get over 120.

ScottGT-S
08-16-2006, 07:33 AM
removable? ..not like ill be goign faster than that though

burnyd
08-16-2006, 08:01 AM
st185 / sw20 computer = 125mph.

Punisher
08-16-2006, 08:55 AM
That will need to be promptly disabled methinks!

Lagos
08-16-2006, 04:41 PM
there is no need to go over 120. unless you have a deathwish or something.

Sean
08-16-2006, 05:04 PM
The signal speed wire comes from gauge cluster.

If you defeat the wire, you will pop a CEL.

The best way to go around this, is a HKS speed cut box, or put a resistor in line.

Punisher
08-16-2006, 05:09 PM
there is no need to go over 120. unless you have a deathwish or something.

So... why did you do a 3s swap?

I thought that people did the 3S swap because they wanted to go fast and most of them generally did have a death wish? Maybe I'm hanging out with the wrong group of guys then? I was racing my friends ram 2500 down 476 the one night and I topped out at a 138mph.. a little bit faster than the truck who was doing about 120.

My GTS felt good even at that speed.. except for the motor.. damn near redline the whole time I was afraid it was going to blow the fuck up.

Sean
08-16-2006, 05:13 PM
There is absolutely NO need to go over a 100 on the freeway.

Lagos
08-16-2006, 05:21 PM
So... why did you do a 3s swap?

I thought that people did the 3S swap because they wanted to go fast and most of them generally did have a death wish? Maybe I'm hanging out with the wrong group of guys then? I was racing my friends ram 2500 down 476 the one night and I topped out at a 138mph.. a little bit faster than the truck who was doing about 120.

My GTS felt good even at that speed.. except for the motor.. damn near redline the whole time I was afraid it was going to blow the fuck up.


going that fast is very dangerous and very dumb. things happen so much faster at those speeds and its easy for something bad to happen. thats just my p.o.v on the issue

why did i do a swap? well, anyone can go 100+ in just about any car. you dont really need a swap for that. i did a swap for the rush i get from my car when i get on the gas.... i care more about 0-100mph then the care to go 120+mph.

Trance4c
08-16-2006, 05:21 PM
There is no governer that I'm aware of for a 90/91 version. We would have to get some information on the 92/93 setups but I still have never heard of a governer on the ST185 JDM's. I go over 120 often. While there is no need for it, thats not the point.. its for the 'fun' of it. Besides.. 120-125 is just way to easy and quick to hit with a swap.


Ok.. took a quick look around, are you using a stock mechanical speedo setup, or the electrical? The electrical does have a wiring coming out of it to the ECU which initiates at 112mph. The mechanical though has no wires thus its not tied to the ECU for a governer.

Sean
08-16-2006, 05:31 PM
There is a wire from the gauge cluster on the 90-93 USDM celica's, it is not used for a speed cut.

92-93 JDM ECU's indefinitely have a speed limiter, i do not know about the 90-91's.

I'm using a mechanical speedo, with a 93 ECU, this has nothing to do with it.

Sean
08-16-2006, 05:32 PM
And lets keep this topic semi on track here folks.

Trance4c
08-16-2006, 05:52 PM
There is a wire from the gauge cluster on the 90-93 USDM celica's, it is not used for a speed cut.

92-93 JDM ECU's indefinitely have a speed limiter, i do not know about the 90-91's.

I'm using a mechanical speedo, with a 93 ECU, this has nothing to do with it.

Its in the 3rd plug, SPD wire. That would be why.

Sean
08-16-2006, 06:04 PM
Its in the 3rd plug, SPD wire. That would be why.

Yep :)

2kSnakEater
08-16-2006, 08:14 PM
The Trans Am has a speed limiter set at 160, ask me how I know.....

Trance4c
08-16-2006, 08:17 PM
The Trans Am has a speed limiter set at 160, ask me how I know.....

No





:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

burnyd
08-16-2006, 08:20 PM
all cars I have owned with the speed limiter.....

93 alltrac,6gc with 91 st185 engine,91 mr2 with 91 sw20 clip...


all three cars has a speed limiter at 125mph. You would hit 125 then it would be like a soft rev limiter and i would send the car back down to 100mph.

ciento44
08-16-2006, 09:15 PM
It's fairly easy to bypass the limiter, no?

I'm sure hoping it's not going to limit me to 118... i'll be trapping higher than that...

burnyd
08-16-2006, 09:17 PM
^^ I would like to see you trap that speed.

ciento44
08-16-2006, 10:14 PM
^^ I would like to see you trap that speed.


Good... feel free to make a trip out here this summer.

It's easy, just get a car that you can't launch, and then you can run retarded quarter miles like 13.0 @ 135.

andy
08-16-2006, 11:51 PM
My front clip came with a Greddy speed cut eliminator. Ill sell it if anyone wants it.

Punisher
08-17-2006, 01:56 AM
No one but me and my buddy on the road at the time.. I only do stupid shit when I'm the only one that will die or those involved in it with me...

Anywho.. I'll find out pretty soon if the 91 US ST185 ecu has a limiter...

GT4SOM
08-17-2006, 04:08 AM
Well I really don't care about having the limiter or not on the GT. I was just a little concerned about the car, maybe something could have been wrong since it was a jdm motor and I have this issue. Oh yeah for the record, I've pegged the speedo on the GTS. This is only once of coarse, its not like I do it everyday. All I can say is it keeped pulling untill I ran out of testicular fortitude which was right around the 150mph mark.. I believe the exotic cars are limited to like 150mph or so he in the US.

ciento44
08-17-2006, 04:18 AM
I've pegged the speedo in my GT.... once or twice last week, actually... :P

I don't know if i have a limiter or not, though... it didn't bounce me back. I think i have slightly different size tires on there, and that may be throwing it off.

Aust162
08-17-2006, 08:33 AM
The way i got rid of my speed limiter was by getting an aftermarket ecu :D

But before that it would cut out at approx 210kph (depending how accurate my speedo is at those speeds). i think that works out to just above 120mph.
You could also fit a switch inline with that wire and flick it when you need to. but then you would still have to reset the ecu, atleast the cel light wouldnt be on ALL the time though. resistor sounds like the cheapest/best option.

burnyd
08-17-2006, 08:43 AM
Good... feel free to make a trip out here this summer.

It's easy, just get a car that you can't launch, and then you can run retarded quarter miles like 13.0 @ 135.


on a celica come on now... Thats worse than a certain someone on this board who bought another persons celica running 11's.....

Trance4c
08-17-2006, 01:52 PM
To remove the limited you do not need a new ECU, or GReddy Speed cut Limiter. All you have to do is identify that pin into the ECU and cut the wire.

Done.

Luni
08-17-2006, 04:54 PM
I dont think the USDM one has a speed limiter. My 91 SW20 doesnt.

ciento44
08-17-2006, 05:53 PM
on a celica come on now... Thats worse than a certain someone on this board who bought another persons celica running 11's.....


Do you ever have anything constructive to say?

The people that have actually read some of my posts in the past know what i'm doing, and all agree that it's more than likely that i'll be trapping over 120.

So until you know the situation, keep your face shut, and your fingers taped up.

In a nutshell, the car isn't being set up for drags, more as a roll-on general fun car. I'm not going to buy ridiculously sticky tires for it, so it's doubtful that i'll get too far into the 12s, but i will be pushing just as much, if not more power than Ricksta is.

Plus, more evidence, if you really need it:

Buddy has a neon that last year was only making 285whp, and he was running mid 12s, at right about 120. Again, not as much power as i'll be making.

There, it's explained. Bullshit over.

Sean
08-17-2006, 09:34 PM
By cutting the wire you trip a CEL.

To eliminate it, buy a 30 cent resistor, and put it in line in the wire. Problem solved.

Denver_whiteST185
08-18-2006, 03:27 AM
hold up, i dont think that USDM alltracs had a speedlimiter other than the mechanical limits of the engine and the RPM limiter.

I've had my car up to 135mph (in controlable conditions) and i haven't touched the electronics on the car.

wizzards581
08-18-2006, 05:19 AM
i think all jdm are governed 120mph. my previous civic with integra jdm ecu stop at 120mph... switch over to usdm ecu and i can top speed 5th gear at 8k rpms... no more gears to go...

Luni
08-18-2006, 05:10 PM
Borinals Gen3 was governed at 120. He fixed it by putting a MINES tuned ECU in.