PDA

View Full Version : Need an ST owners help.



elektrateq
08-09-2006, 10:28 AM
I want to know if this bolt that i am showing in this (shitty) diagram is actually just a nut or not. It's the one i have labeled as stripped that's connecting the engine mount bracket to the top of the tranny. Will someone unbolt this and see if it's just a capped nut, or if it's actually a bolt? It's easy to get to (just to the left of your intake box inbetween some wires) and will be very easy to put back on. Thanks!

This image is looking down at the engine bay with the intake box removed.
http://www.prism.gatech.edu/~lvickery3/graphics/bolthelp.jpg

NDMstang65
08-09-2006, 04:33 PM
Uploading a few pictures right now to see exactly what your talking about...as far as i can tell with the stock engine/tranny out of the st they are all bolts...pics coming in a minute

NDMstang65
08-09-2006, 04:49 PM
http://photos-821.facebook.com/ip004/v38/69/43/31207891/n31207891_30506821_9495.jpg

That one?

Or...This one

http://photos-822.facebook.com/ip004/v38/69/43/31207891/n31207891_30506822_947.jpg

NDMstang65
08-09-2006, 04:50 PM
Or if its underneath the mount i can take a pic of that too...

There are 3 bolts underneath the rubber circle mount that hold the bracket on...

Lemme know

-Nick

elektrateq
08-09-2006, 08:40 PM
http://photos-821.facebook.com/ip004/v38/69/43/31207891/n31207891_30506821_9495.jpg


This one, is just a nut, the actual threading of the bolt is integrated into the mount.



http://photos-822.facebook.com/ip004/v38/69/43/31207891/n31207891_30506822_947.jpg

This is the one that has a stripped head. (where is that mounting bracket? Maybe it's different for the 5a?) I need to know if this one is like the other and it's just a capped nut that comes off and not a full bolt with the shaft. If it's a nut I can just crack it in 2 and replace it.

Thank you so much for the pix!

NDMstang65
08-10-2006, 05:48 AM
I'll look when i go back up to the shop tomorrow for you

That's the engine i took out of the st...and i took the brackets and stuff off of it other then that nothing has changed

If i remember correctly i think the only thing that was connected to that bolt was the small thing bracket for the hydraulic clutch line...

It's definately a bolt in my car...have you tried heating it up and clamping a pair of vice grips on it to get it out before you try to split it?

NDMstang65
08-12-2006, 05:45 AM
The one that you rounded off is definately a bolt

I looked at it today and i forgot to post and tell you

elektrateq
08-12-2006, 09:24 AM
Thanks... I'm gonna try pounding a smaller socket on. It's hard to get vice grips on there with the wires and such plus it'll be REALLY hard to turn them. Maybe my dremmel will shave some of the head of to make it smaller... OH and only thing i can get down there that i own o heat it up with is an aim-n-flame (one of those long lighters with a handle).

elektrateq
08-12-2006, 09:25 AM
What are you doin to that st?

NDMstang65
08-12-2006, 04:31 PM
What are you doin to that st?

just a 3sgte :)

i'm trying to get ahead of the game on pictures/progress... ill make a thread here shortly

just waiting on the junk yard guy to get back here so i can go up to the yard and rob parts off of the GT car that is wrecked up there that i need...i'm pretty much at a stand still because of that :(

Best bet for you to do in your case is try to make a hexagon out of the bolt again with a grinder and pound a smaller socket (preferably like a impact socket) back down on there and you should beable to break it loose with an impact gun.

85gtsblackman
08-12-2006, 06:51 PM
thats your best bet is to somehow file the bolt down to the next smallest size, then tap a good socket on there, ie a 6 point matco or snap on, craftsman may or maynot do it

thats how i got my flywheel bolts off my 4a

elektrateq
08-14-2006, 06:52 AM
Thanks guy I'll get on it soon. I need to find a place to live before school starts...