PDA

View Full Version : digital speedo



Ricksta
06-24-2006, 12:10 AM
do they make them for celicas? like one that would fit in my gauge cluster? or anywhere for that matter?

Punisher
06-24-2006, 12:29 AM
Yes they do make them.

GRUMPY514
06-24-2006, 12:40 AM
For a 5th gen no.

But you can mock up any system for it to work.

Ricksta
06-24-2006, 05:43 AM
anyone have a link so i can check it out? it'd be kickass to have one in my gauge cluster if they make it

GT4SOM
06-24-2006, 05:49 AM
Just get a GPS system that will tell you how fast you are going.

burnyd
06-24-2006, 07:57 AM
Just get a GPS system that will tell you how fast you are going.

Im always so amazed at my garmin when it tell me how fast im going.

Ricksta
06-24-2006, 09:36 PM
and i'll be amazed when someone tells me where to find one!!!!!!

cms-gt4
06-24-2006, 10:25 PM
Apexi makes a digi-meter (speedo tach etc..) and frame for the 5th gen. I saw a set on yahoo japan recently. Only problem is finding a seller willing to ship to the us, oh and being able to speak japanese.

Ricksta
06-25-2006, 01:12 AM
fawk.... so how do i get on yahoo japan?!?!

angryyoungnpoor
06-25-2006, 01:56 AM
http://www.yahoo.co.jp ? There's plenty of way to getting it done. Probly gonna need some custom work done.

Ricksta
06-25-2006, 06:01 PM
wow that looks impossible i dont even know where to start

Ricksta
06-25-2006, 07:31 PM
anyway to get something like this to work and fit in my gauge cluster?
http://cgi.ebay.com/YAMAHA-OUTBOARD-DIGITAL-TACHO-SPEEDO-MULTI-LCD-KIT_W0QQitemZ4652994658QQihZ002QQcategoryZ15271QQs sPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Punisher
06-25-2006, 07:47 PM
Ricksta.. learn how to fucking use GOOGLE. you n00ble.

burnyd
06-25-2006, 10:18 PM
or pay off the 5th gen first :D... I would do that before buying a spark plug for the car.

Ricksta
06-26-2006, 03:58 AM
Ricksta.. learn how to fucking use GOOGLE. you n00ble.

i did google it and i came up with nothing

Ricksta
06-26-2006, 04:00 AM
or pay off the 5th gen first :D... I would do that before buying a spark plug for the car.

he's pissing me off fuck that shit if i gotta wait he can too

2kSnakEater
06-26-2006, 05:18 PM
or pay off the 5th gen first :D... I would do that before buying a spark plug for the car.


I hate to agree but yes, pay the car off first then do radical mods to it like your planning. Unless its a direct plug in, Digi guages are going to be a pain in the A$$, both instalation wise and $$ wise.

JDMjosh
06-28-2006, 04:54 AM
my 88' New Yorker (RIP) had a digital gauge cluster. pretty sweet... but it was green:(

oh yeah, and the car talked to me too. 'Your door is adjar!' it was nuts. loved that car.

digital gauges are kinda lame for sports cars though. i like the analog look. i bought an indiglo gauge cluster from a cardomain.com guy for $20... it's pretty alright. so bright at night but you can dim it and adjust it from green to blue.

i'll try and find out who makes it....

Ricksta
06-28-2006, 05:59 AM
well see my speedo stops at 120. i wanted a digital speedo to put in my gauge cluster or somewhere external so i know that my speed will be exact and well i'll know what i'll be doing over 120 lol

Ricksta
06-28-2006, 06:00 AM
and ive shopped around and havent found a speedo that i liked so i thought this digital idea would be nice

Colossus20v
06-28-2006, 02:45 PM
Didnt your GTS cluster go to 150mph? I have an alltrac cluster if your interested.

Ricksta
06-28-2006, 11:36 PM
yes the gts did go to 150 but its not indiglow!!!!!!!!! is your alltrac cluster indiglow?!?!?

Colossus20v
06-29-2006, 02:02 AM
No but you just buy the indiglow gauges and put them in.

cms-gt4
06-29-2006, 06:27 PM
The 165 had digital speedo in japan. Some over here have done the conversion. I don't know if it was an option or a certain year that had it. The only one I have seen in a 5th gen is the apexi one. I don't even like that ones design though. You could leave it alone and put in a HUD and have better function.

JDMjosh
06-30-2006, 01:27 AM
hells yeah.. HUD

wizzards581
06-30-2006, 01:46 AM
2gen camry has digital. something can be done.

Slider
06-30-2006, 01:59 AM
Getting an aftermarktet HUD would be another option.

Ricksta
06-30-2006, 05:51 AM
anyone have links to the hud?