PDA

View Full Version : new member but more than like regular problem

Elite_Smoke91
05-23-2006, 08:11 AM
Hello everyone I recently purchased a 1991 celica stx a couple weeks ago. the odometer reads 273490 still ticking. The motor runs strong for a 103 hp 4 cylinder with a minor crack in the exhaust manifold. Anyways the motor was supposedly swapped with a 100k mile motor. Heres the problem earlier today while i was cruising around i pulled to a redlight and while in first gear my idle speed started bouncing slowly between 1100-2000 i slowly pulled out and everything seemed fine. When i got to the house i cut it off went inside and started searching the web until i found celicatech.com any ways later on i went back out and started the car and its idling steadily at 2k rpms. what could this be , I already know I should check plugs wires and clean something on the bottom of the throttle body. Like I said im new to Toyotas and any help is appreciated.

Murgatroy
05-23-2006, 08:56 AM
Check and make sure all your vacuum hoses are hooked up. A vacuum leak is the number one cause of poor idle quality.

Welcome to the Celica Community, and of course, the definitive Celica site.

Elite_Smoke91
05-23-2006, 06:26 PM
can someone be specific about what im lloking for around the throttle body , would a wire brush be alright for cleaning??

aballz
05-23-2006, 07:38 PM
I'm not exactly a car expert but does anyone have a picture of the vacuum hose? I sometimes have an unsteady idle as well.

Elite_Smoke91
05-23-2006, 09:42 PM
shit man usually forums like this help you out what the hells goin on. what am i lookin for and what is with the car idling at 2100 rpms any help is appreciated in advance

ciento44
05-23-2006, 09:46 PM
shit man usually forums like this help you out what the hells goin on. what am i lookin for and what is with the car idling at 2100 rpms any help is appreciated in advance