PDA

View Full Version : Autox tire pressure

CUcelica
04-19-2006, 07:47 PM
I was wondering what anyone here runs? I have the parada spec 2's. I'm really new to autox. I ran 40 psi all around the last 3 events.

yotas4life
04-19-2006, 08:17 PM
no, drop it to about 25 psi, will help you get more grip

Hiko
04-19-2006, 09:26 PM

But will absolutely destroy our tires. Dustin, if you want proof, check out my right rear at the next event.

I ran 37 pounds at the last two events. I had good grip and the tires lasted just fine. True, I could've reduced the pressure, but these are also DD tires, and we are not going to be competitive in STS. Just some food for thought.

yotas4life
04-19-2006, 10:25 PM
ive ran my rt-615's at 25 psi on 25+miles of mountain runs numerous times, about 3 auto x's last year and there still at 30% tread left, and theres no noticable wear on the sides

acutally on the track i run them at 17 psi and ive never had a problem, if you have crappy $60 radials and big sidewalls then yes it will ruin your tires but if you have any lesss than 50's it wont do much if anything

Toyota_Todd
04-19-2006, 10:27 PM
Take some white shoe polish and mark the sidewalls. This will let you know how much your tires are rolling over on the sidewalls. If you are wiping out all of the shoe polish, up your pressure until it quits wiping off. Good luck and have fun.

Morwan
04-20-2006, 12:54 AM

Are you retarded? If you run that low with most tires, you'll be running on your sidewalls.

It really depends on the tires, but usually 10 psi above street is good. Using shoe polish or chalk is the best way to tell; just overinflate your tires and check the wear after the first run.

yotas4life
04-20-2006, 02:37 AM
no, im just smarter than you and dont buy thick sidewalled tires,
i run my 215-40-16's at 25 psi all day and i have NO sidewall marks, at the track i even run 17psi fore more grip and ive never had any problems

you are retarded

Morwan
04-20-2006, 03:37 AM